Apache Lounge



Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge

Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.



A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored by anyone.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing the building of the binaries.

Testing Domain - localtest.me

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> How-to's & Documentation & Tips

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2327
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 16 May '12 13:28    Post subject: Testing Domain - localtest.me Reply with quote

Interesting read at http://weblogs.asp.net/owscott/ :

Save this URL, memorize it, write it on a sticky note, tweet it, tell your colleagues about it!

localtest.me (http://localtest.me)


*.localtest.me (http://something.localtest.me)

If you do any testing on your local system you’ve probably created hosts file entries (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts) for different testing domains and had them point back to This works great but it requires just a bit of extra effort.

This localtest.me trick is so obvious, so simple, and yet so powerful. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are other domain names like this out there, but I haven’t run across them yet so I just ordered the domain name localtest.me which I’ll keep available for the internet community to use.

Here’s how it works. The entire domain name localtest.me—and all wildcard entries—point to So without any changes to your host file you can immediate start testing with a local URL.
Back to top
James Blond

Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 5635
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 16 May '12 15:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed a nice trick, but there one disadvantage that I see. The client has to have a connection to the DNS server in the internet. In a pure LAN environment that won't work. Also you are bound to that domain name. With a must have of a different domain name it is easier to use the hosts file or a local DNS server.
Back to top

Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 1904
Location: Sun Diego, CA, USofA

PostPosted: Wed 16 May '12 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's also just as easy adding the hostname to your host file while adding it to Apache's config.

At there's no way to test IPv6 either. When I test a just compiled Apache I can always tell if I forgot to flip the IPv6 bit if it will not answer to a certain hostname.
Back to top

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> How-to's & Documentation & Tips
Page 1 of 1