logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



AH00141: Could not initialize random number generator

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RowanH



Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg

PostPosted: Tue 27 Aug '13 16:54    Post subject: AH00141: Could not initialize random number generator Reply with quote

I am attempting to install Apache HTTPD on a PC running Windows 7 Ultimate SP1.

VC9, VC10 & VC11 redistributables are installed.

When I attempt to start Apache - both from the command line and as a service - I receive the following error messages:

[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.624800 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5192:tid 284] AH00455: Apache/2.4.6 (Win64) configured -- resuming normal operations
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.626800 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5192:tid 284] AH00456: Apache Lounge VC11 Server built: Jul 15 2013 20:45:22
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.626800 2013] [core:notice] [pid 5192:tid 284] AH00094: Command line: 'C:\\Apache24\\bin\\httpd.exe -d C:/Apache24'
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.667800 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5192:tid 284] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 7684
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.668800 2013] [mpm_winnt:debug] [pid 5192:tid 284] mpm_winnt.c(422): AH00402: Parent: Sent the scoreboard to the child
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.704800 2013] [:crit] [pid 7684] (-2146173818)Unknown error: AH00141: Could not initialize random number generator
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.709800 2013] [mpm_winnt:crit] [pid 5192:tid 284] AH00419: master_main: create child process failed. Exiting.
[Tue Aug 27 15:33:27.710800 2013] [core:info] [pid 5192:tid 284] AH00096: removed PID file C:/Apache24/logs/httpd.pid (pid=5192)

The Windows event viewer merely says that HTTPD stopped with an application-specific error #1.

I have also tried with SSL both enabled and commented out.

For what it is worth the message appears to be generated by the routine ap_init_rng in the server core.c module.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated !!
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2602
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 27 Aug '13 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Saw in an other post of you with the same issue with Wamp and Xampp. All leftovers from Wamp and Xampp removed ?

What changes made you in httpd.conf ?

What happens when you comment out ServerName or change to Servername 127.0.0.1
Back to top
RowanH



Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg

PostPosted: Tue 27 Aug '13 20:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for your assistance.

All left-overs - including directories - were removed.

HTTPD was then successfully installed as a service.

If ServerName = 127.0.0.1 debug reports service as starting, but then stops due to the random number generator problem.

The same thing happens when server name = localhost.

Adding the port number 80 to the ServerName value had no effect.

I have tried loading / commenting out "#LoadModule ssl_module modules/mod_ssl.so". I am currently running with SSL commented out. No effect.

I have also tried running the service ("Log On As") using my login credentials, which includes administrator rights. No effect.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2602
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 27 Aug '13 20:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

You tried the run with the default/clean config files, in folder conf/original ?

If not, try it in a command window with Apache installed in "c:/Apache24" and change nothing in the conf files(s).
Back to top
RowanH



Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg

PostPosted: Wed 28 Aug '13 15:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for your assistance.

Starting with the .conf file from /conf/original resulted in the following error log:

AH00558: httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using fe80::dd36:a7d:eb92:c8a. Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message
[Wed Aug 28 15:00:37.218800 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 15680:tid 608] AH00455: Apache/2.4.6 (Win64) configured -- resuming normal operations
[Wed Aug 28 15:00:37.220800 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 15680:tid 608] AH00456: Apache Lounge VC11 Server built: Jul 15 2013 20:45:22
[Wed Aug 28 15:00:37.220800 2013] [core:notice] [pid 15680:tid 608] AH00094: Command line: 'httpd -d C:/Apache24 -f C:\\apache24\\conf\\original\\httpd.conf'
[Wed Aug 28 15:00:37.262800 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 15680:tid 608] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 13108
[Wed Aug 28 15:00:37.349800 2013] [:crit] [pid 13108] (-2146173818)Unknown error: AH00141: Could not initialize random number generator
[Wed Aug 28 15:00:37.428800 2013] [mpm_winnt:crit] [pid 15680:tid 608] AH00419: master_main: create child process failed. Exiting.

In the meanwhile I tried the following:

1. Added back SSL; and
2. Added (and removed after testing) the following to httpd.conf

<IfModule mpm_winnt_module>
ThreadStackSize 8388608
</IfModule>


Neither had any effect.

I did, however, notice one thing, which may or may not be significant. When compared to the many other error logs that appear on Google the following entry is missing from all of my error logs:

AH00354: Child: Starting 150 worker threads.

Does this help at all ?

Kind regards

-- rowan
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2602
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 28 Aug '13 15:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

You did not tried in a command prompt with a clean install in c:/Apache24 ?

AH00354: Apache is not so far with its initialization.

I am stumbled, think I cannot help you.

Only I can think of is that there is some with your Windows, maybe you tweaked it. Or Xampp/Wamp has installed/overwritten some in a Windows path like system32. It is known that Xampp can screw things up.
Back to top
RowanH



Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg

PostPosted: Wed 28 Aug '13 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Steffen -

I managed to resolve the issue: a corrupted character in the PATH environment variable <sigh>

Many thanks for your assistance.

Kind regards

-- rowan
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2602
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 28 Aug '13 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to hear.

Can you give more details ?
Back to top
RowanH



Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Location: South Africa, Johannesburg

PostPosted: Wed 28 Aug '13 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not really much in the way of details.

I decided to re-check the environment settings.

There was what looked like a Chinese character in the PATH, so I edited the PATH to remove the entry containing the corrupted character.

Re-booted, tested & everything worked.

I was under the impression that Apache24 didn't use environmental variables, hence I'd more-or-less ignored them ... <sigh>

I knew it had to be something stupid: just didn't expect this stupid Smile

Once again, thanks for the assist !
Back to top
LigH



Joined: 08 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan '18 12:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

I have the same issue now, just after I installed the last Microsoft Windows 7 SP1 x64 Monthly security rollup (KB4056894). My last XAMPP update was xampp-win32-5.6.31-0-VC11, everything worked well until last week.

I found this thread, checked my PATH, found some suspicious characters at the concatenation between system and user PATH parts. So I refreshed both, cleaned some superfluous directories to shorten it a bit, rebooted ... the PATH appears to be fine now. Still, Apache 2.4 refuses to start, or more precisely: I see it being terminated in the XAMPP control window after ports 80 and 443 appear to get used.

Cryptographic service is running. Apache service is generally allowed in the firewall rules.

Are there possibly more verbose debug output parameters to trace the loading?
Back to top
admin
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan '18 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xampp using our binaries, but have some specifics, for example they have runtime files in the Apache/bin folder. Not sure that this is a cause.

Not seen any reports (yet) with our binaries.
Back to top
LigH



Joined: 08 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jan '18 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

If that was the cause, why did it work a week ago, and months and years ago?

I would not blame XAMPP a priori. It may be a victim of a different reason just like Apache alone.

It does not work anymore since I rebooted after the last MS security update for Windows; but even that may be a coincidence, as another PC with a very similar setup still works.

I need more overview which reasons are possible at all for this specific error, and tools how to discover the specific reason for my case.
Back to top
LigH



Joined: 08 Jan 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jan '18 16:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few more Microsoft security updates today, another reboot ... and Apache runs again.

Rolling Eyes Was there an imbalance between Windows system components? Confused
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1