logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



updating Apache with PHP and MySQL

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Other Software



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan '16 23:48    Post subject: updating Apache with PHP and MySQL Reply with quote

I have an Apache 2.4.9 installation runing on WIn7 environment with no PHP and no MySQL. I need to install Wordpress that requires PHP 5.5 or higher and MySQL 5.5 or higher.

How do I update my current Apache 2.4.9 system to support PHP and mySQL?

I have researched and cannot find how to update/upgrade Apache in this way. I undertsnad how to do new install but that would mean taking down a 2 live commercial web sites.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan '16 10:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to install PHP. There is a tutorial for that. See https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=2394

If you still have a question please ask again.
Back to top
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan '16 1:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you James the directions seem quite comprehensive.

I do have one question, as I am dealing with 2 live web sites, is there any way to reverse the process if it doesn't work?

I have taken a complete copy of the current apache24 (Apache 2.4.9) folder as a safety blanket.

Is the new 64-bit version of Apache stable and reliable, as I am running Win7-64 system and it would be good to utilise the full functionality of the 64-bit system.
Back to top
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan '16 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have received this error after following your instructions for PHP7 when I did the php -m

Is this an issue, if so how do I fix it?
Back to top
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan '16 2:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to paste the error message:
c:\Php>php -m
PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php\php_mysqli.dll
' - The specified module could not be found.
in Unknown on line 0
PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php\php_pdo_mysql.
dll' - The specified module could not be found.
in Unknown on line 0

Is this a problem, if so how do I fix it?
Back to top
DnvrSysEngr



Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 158
Location: Denver, CO USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan '16 4:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have set up mysql and php in the past. Here is what I had to do.

In your PHP.ini file, uncomment and edit the following lines.

extension_dir = "C:\PHP\ext"

Dynamic extensions section contains various additional modules that you want to be loaded with, and the commented once are those that comes prepackaged with PHP and can be found in the ext directory in your PHP folder. If you want to activate any just remove the commenting as you should do with the following extensions:
php_curl.dll
php_gd2.dll
php_mbstring.dll
php_mysql.dll
php_mysqli.dll
php_pdo.dll
php_pdo_mysql.dll
php_xsl.dll

This should be what you need to get you started.
Back to top
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan '16 8:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes that was it I forgot to remove ";"

I feel rather foolish.
Back to top
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jan '16 2:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now my next issue. I now have Apache 2.4.18 running with PHP7

However whenI transfer the 2 folders that are for the 2 separate web sites into htdocs the system goes directly to the index.html page "It Works"

How do I get teh system to redirect to these folders in htdocs for the 2 separate web domains?
Back to top
DnvrSysEngr



Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 158
Location: Denver, CO USA

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jan '16 5:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

This post will most certainly answer your question. Read the entry from GLSmith
Back to top
DnvrSysEngr



Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 158
Location: Denver, CO USA

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jan '16 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might help if I posted the link Very Happy

http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=6027&view=previous
Back to top
Gosmicro



Joined: 25 Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb '16 7:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

That did help and highlighted and line missing from httpd_vhosts.cnf file. It states it is not necessary but when I put the line back in it all worked as it should.

NameVirtualHost *:80

I also change the Documentroot to the "c:\apache24\htdocs\site-name" which fixed the dircetory lookup. I did change documentroot first and made no difference. It was when I included the additional NameVirtualHost that was present in previous versions that it all came to life.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Other Software
Page 1 of 1