logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



[SOLVED] can't access Apache from WAN?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jsmizza



Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jun '17 21:10    Post subject: [SOLVED] can't access Apache from WAN? Reply with quote

* first post *

Hi all,

Not sure, but I think I've messed-up either my Apache config or my LAN DNS config.

Problem: cannot access my Wordpress site from WAN. LAN is fine. If I try to access my site from the WAN - timeouts. No response from the server.

Code:
$ apache2 -v
Server version: Apache/2.4.7 (Ubuntu)
Server built:   May  9 2017 16:14:10
 
$ lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID: Ubuntu
Description:    Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Release:        14.04
Codename:       trusty

The only change I made to Apache before noticing this problem was to edit my .conf to try to limit responses to only those where the website was mentioned. I was attempting to reject all requests where only my Public IP was used.

When I noticed this problem, I thought I had reverted my changes back, but maybe not? Here's the head of my current site config file after reversion:
Code:
$ head /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default.conf | sed 's|blog.*|blog\.com|'
<VirtualHost *:80>
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
        ServerName blog.com

        DocumentRoot /var/www
        <Directory />
                Options FollowSymLinks
                AllowOverride None
        </Directory>
        <Directory /var/www/>


I can see the usual array of hack requests coming in from the WAN being logged in my Apache log file, but any WAN request for my site is NOT logged. <confused>

To test, I created a blank site on another PC in my LAN, modified my router to point to the new PC, and no problem. Works fine. I can access that blank site from the WAN and LAN.

Thank you to anyone who can offer advice here.


Last edited by jsmizza on Wed 13 Sep '17 21:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
jsmizza



Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jun '17 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Just a follow up 2 weeks later. No change at this end. Any suggestions?

Thank you.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6202
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jun '17 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume you use portforwarding in your router?
Did you try a different port number? Some ISP block port 80 and some routers will show only their internal page.
Back to top
jsmizza



Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jun '17 19:25    Post subject: Re: can't access Apache from WAN? Reply with quote

jsmizza wrote:
I can see the usual array of hack requests coming in from the WAN being logged in my Apache log file, but any WAN request for my site is NOT logged. <confused>

To test, I created a blank site on another PC in my LAN, modified my router to point to the new PC, and no problem. Works fine. I can access that blank site from the WAN and LAN.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6202
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul '17 13:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you configure your LAN DNS than?
Back to top
jsmizza



Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul '17 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using DNSMasq in DD-WRT.

All LAN client DNS point to router.

Router DNS points to 8.8.8.8

This is something that has been working for years, and the only change I made was on the server. All devices on my LAN are resolving DNS correctly.

I guess I was hoping that by posting my apache site config file, someone familiar with the structure could check it and tell me if it is correct.
Back to top
jsmizza



Joined: 08 Jun 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep '17 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a quick follow-up on this.

This problem was caused by my overly-cautious IDS/IPS blocking the external IP addresses I was testing my site from and also blocking the various online site-checkers too. (sigh)

Reconfigured my IDS/IPS and now it all works again.

Thanks everyone for your assistance.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking
Page 1 of 1