logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



using authentication on a non directory based virtual host

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tripcode



Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb '06 18:19    Post subject: using authentication on a non directory based virtual host Reply with quote

Hi

I've got a Plone site up and running using SSL through Apache 2.2 on Windows. Took a bit of troubleshooting getting the SSL running but it is all fine now.

My question is this.

I want to use .htpasswd as authentication but it seems everything has to be wrapped in a <Directory></Directory> directive. The plone site doesn't have a directory as it is database backed. If I include the BasicAuth stuff inside the <virtualhost> Apache says it need to be in a <Directory>.

Anyone any ideas here?

Thanks
Back to top
pnllan



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb '06 0:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's been awhile since I have played with Plone...

If I remember correctly, it uses Python and Zope...right...to access the database?

So those files are in a folder/directory somewhere...where I'm not sure...it depends on how you installed Plone. Once you know which folders you want to authenticate...you should be able to configure that in Apache with the <Directory> directive.
Back to top
tripcode



Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb '06 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it's all database backed. Each site within Plone doesn't have a directory but an area in the Zope database. I only want to password protect one site just now. I've got virtual hosts set up and SSL. However it seems that htpsswd only works over <directory></directory> and I can't specify a directory for the site as it sits in the Zope database along with the other sites.
Back to top
tripcode



Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb '06 18:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I have found out that you can do this with <location></location>
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1