logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



running IIS and apache

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
flogradstudent



Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb '06 21:55    Post subject: Got error message an not running Skype Reply with quote

I am running IIS - would this be the problem? If not, how do I check what might be running port 80? Can I reconfigure httpd to a different port?

Thanks so much ...

flo
Back to top
pnllan



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb '06 22:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flo,

Yes, IIS by default is setup to use Port 80, as do most (if not all web servers).

Yes, Apache (httpd) can be setup to use a different Port.

There are a variety of ways to setup IIS and Apache, but both cannot use the same Port.

Rather than ellaborating on All the ways this can be accomplished:

what do you need from IIS?

What do you need out of Apache?

Is there an actual need for both?

What are trying to accomplish with your web server(s)?

This will help the people here help you.
.
Back to top
flogradstudent



Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb '06 22:53    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am testing out someone else's software - they wrote it in PHP, tested with Apache. The people we are giving this to run both IIS and Apache. So, the simple answer for me, I think, is to remove IIS since the folks we are giving the software to presumably run both cleanly. I am obviously new to all of this stuff - and so appreciate the confirmation of what I suspected.

Thanks again -

flo
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb '06 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

To change the Port from Apache look for listen 80 in httpd.conf change it to the new port i.e. listen 8080
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1