logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



Virtual Directory

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Osteele



Joined: 14 Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov '05 20:11    Post subject: Virtual Directory Reply with quote

I will try to be as clear as possible. I am fairly new to Apache, so
please bear with me.

I setup a fairly simple web site. I use:
Apache 2.0.48 & PHP/4.3.4 - WIndows 2000 Server
I offer my visitors the possibilty of listening to a variety of music
via Andromeda PHP v.1.9.3
The jukebox module is located at c:\Apache\Apache2\htdocs\modules\music
My primary hard disk drive is very small (9 gig), so I installed an
additional 80G IDE drive in my server.
I would like to serve up all of my music from e:\music
This is the only module that will be accessing data from drive "e" for
now.

How exactly should I do this from within my HTTP server.

I know what has to be done within my Andromeda preferences file.
Modifications to that file resulted in my seeing the contents of
e:\music, but Windows media player comes back with an error when trying
to connect.

I hope that I was able to provide enough information. Any assistance
would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Peter
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov '05 0:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to help you, but I am not familiar with your application Andromeda.

Only thing I can think about is reinstalling Andromeda.

What error gives Windows media player ?


Steffen
Back to top
Osteele



Joined: 14 Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov '05 2:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I want to help you, but I am not familiar with your application Andromeda.

Only thing I can think about is reinstalling Andromeda.

What error gives Windows media player ?

Thanks so much for the response.

I have spoken to the developer of the Andromeda jukebox. He asked me if I was able to access drive "E" from within my web site. I cannot. So, I am assuming that it must be an Apache config.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov '05 22:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you can post the following from your httpd.conf:

ServerRoot .....

NameVirtualHost ....

<VirtualHost *>
DocumentRoot ........
.....
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
DocumentRoot ........
.....
</VirtualHost>


Steffen
Back to top
nuketighten



Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov '05 5:10    Post subject: have everthing working again Reply with quote

ok i have everything back up and working. when you go to

http://www.vortexx.org

or

http://www.area51music.org

they resolve to the same website. How do i get them to resolve to different websites?

here is my vhost file:

### Section 3: Virtual Hosts
#
# VirtualHost: If you want to maintain multiple domains/hostnames on your
# machine you can setup VirtualHost containers for them. Most configurations
# use only name-based virtual hosts so the server doesn't need to worry about
# IP addresses. This is indicated by the asterisks in the directives below.
#
# Please see the documentation at <URL:http://www.apache.org/docs/vhosts/>
# for further details before you try to setup virtual hosts.
#
# You may use the command line option '-S' to verify your virtual host
# configuration.

#
# Use name-based virtual hosting.
#
NameVirtualHost vortexx.org

#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for requests without a known
# server name.
#
<VirtualHost vortexx.org>
ServerAdmin admin@dummy-host.example.com
DocumentRoot C:\virtualhosts\vortexx
ServerName dummy-host.example.com
ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
</VirtualHost>

#alias
#alias

also do i need to have any of the other parts of my apache file changed?
Back to top
Osteele



Joined: 14 Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov '05 16:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently, I don't have much configured in my VitualHost section. Here it is:

### Section 3: Virtual Hosts
#
# VirtualHost: If you want to maintain multiple domains/hostnames on your
# machine you can setup VirtualHost containers for them. Most configurations
# use only name-based virtual hosts so the server doesn't need to worry about
# IP addresses. This is indicated by the asterisks in the directives below.
#
# Please see the documentation at
# <URL:http://httpd.apache.org/docs-2.0/vhosts/>
# for further details before you try to setup virtual hosts.
#
# You may use the command line option '-S' to verify your virtual host
# configuration.

#
# Use name-based virtual hosting.
#
#NameVirtualHost *:80

#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for requests without a known
# server name.
#
#<VirtualHost *:80>
# ServerAdmin webmaster@dummy-host.example.com
# DocumentRoot /www/docs/dummy-host.example.com
# ServerName dummy-host.example.com
# ErrorLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-error_log
# CustomLog logs/dummy-host.example.com-access_log common
#</VirtualHost>

And: ServerRoot "C:/Apache/Apache2"

Steffen wrote:
Maybe you can post the following from your httpd.conf:

ServerRoot .....

NameVirtualHost ....

<VirtualHost *>
DocumentRoot ........
.....
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
DocumentRoot ........
.....
</VirtualHost>


Steffen
Back to top
Brian



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 209
Location: Puyallup, WA USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov '05 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

Howdy,

Are you running your server with multiple IP addresses or just one IP address?

--
Brian
Back to top
Osteele



Joined: 14 Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov '05 20:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just the one IP address..

Brian wrote:
Howdy,

Are you running your server with multiple IP addresses or just one IP address?

--
Brian
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1