logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.




Prefork

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arch Stanton



Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan '06 20:21    Post subject: Prefork Reply with quote

Is it possible to enable prefork in Apache 2 for Windows?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6340
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan '06 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, there is no mpm module for that. Caused by the different architecture of Windows, there is no need for prefork. Multithreading and Handles are working fine.
Back to top
Arch Stanton



Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan '06 15:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, it's safe to use Apache 2.x with PHP in Windows then? I thought it wasn't because it didn't offer prefork.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6340
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan '06 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure you can use Apache 2.X for Windows. The question is: what you want to do with that server. For commercial use, me, myself and I won't use Windows, but for development or intranet Apache von Windows works fine.
Any other questions?
Back to top
oxalide



Joined: 25 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '06 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

you say that you can't use prefork on windows...but i found a link saying the oposite, could you please explain me why it is not possible to use prefork ?

http://www.ced.univ-montp2.fr/php/php5_doc/install.windows.apache2.html

TY,
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6340
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '06 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

prefork is a technik for systems without threading. Windows can threading (more than one process at one time) so Windows realy not need preforking. For that see http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/en/mpm.html#defaults
Back to top
oxalide



Joined: 25 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '06 15:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes i get that, but i have a client that need to do benchmark with prefork activated.....So i have to compile it on windows...so i did it but without prefork....so i wanted to know if it is possible and how to compile with the prefork mpm and non winnt ??
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6340
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '06 15:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, now I got you. Yes somewhere in the code or the project definition is set which mpm the compiler choose. Under Linux I would use --with-mpm=prefork as argument for the configure script. Please ask in the Building with Visual C ++ for that.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1