logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



Apache slow

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jcink



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar '06 18:25    Post subject: Apache slow Reply with quote

Hi, I have Windows and Apache 2.0.55, php, mysql. I used to use Apache 1.3.x and everything was fine, but I really wanted mod_security from here. I could not find it for windows + 1.3.

So, I upgraded to Apache2. Installed mod_security. It took me a while to finally figure out what was making my server slow: after a couple hours apache2 would be using a ton of memory! like 60k-70k. Totally abnormal from what I have seen in Apache 1.3.x, that stayed at 12k max I ever saw it at was 15k. I switched right back to 1.3 and everything has been fine again....

I have 1gig of RAM. And my apache lags.

but I would really like Apache2 + Mod security back. It really works for me, It just saved one of my users from an attack on their messageboard (invisionboard) and I'd like to bring it back.

It's not mod_security either btw, because I disabled that and still has the same problems.

Thanks to anyone who can help because I'm stumped.


Last edited by Jcink on Fri 17 Mar '06 20:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar '06 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are yo also running other non-stadard modules ?

Where do you read you CPU usage ?
60k-70k ? Or do you mean % ?

Ever tried the Apache 2.2.0 from here ?



Steffen
Back to top
Jcink



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar '06 21:33    Post subject: Hi Reply with quote

here are the modules i have:

Quote:

LoadModule security_module modules/mod_security/mod_security.so
LoadModule access_module modules/mod_access.so
LoadModule actions_module modules/mod_actions.so
LoadModule alias_module modules/mod_alias.so
LoadModule asis_module modules/mod_asis.so
LoadModule auth_module modules/mod_auth.so
LoadModule autoindex_module modules/mod_autoindex.so
LoadModule cgi_module modules/mod_cgi.so
LoadModule dir_module modules/mod_dir.so
LoadModule env_module modules/mod_env.so
LoadModule imap_module modules/mod_imap.so
LoadModule isapi_module modules/mod_isapi.so
LoadModule log_config_module modules/mod_log_config.so
LoadModule mime_module modules/mod_mime.so
LoadModule negotiation_module modules/mod_negotiation.so
LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
LoadModule setenvif_module modules/mod_setenvif.so
LoadModule userdir_module modules/mod_userdir.so
LoadModule php4_module "C:/Program Files/EasyPHP1-8/php/php4apache2.dll"


What I mean by the k was (sorry for being unclear) was the "Mem Usage" stuff. I start it up, and then slowly the Mem usage keeps climbing and doesnt stop and sits at those high numbers. so after a while I'll be browsing my forum and the site is really laggy. Neutral I tested about 3 times now, I'm sure its something in my Apache2 or 2 itself because my 1.3 goes for days on end with no lag whatsoever and I dont have these problems.

Do you see any modules that might be causing a problem/ones i should just disable?

I have not tried Apache 2.2.0 yet. I might give it a try.

Thanks for your help and time on this,
jcink
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar '06 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

Better to change the topic title Smile

Here memory usage climbs from start 20k till over 100k. Mostly caused by mod_perl, which is normal as mod-perl caches a lot.

You memory usage does not look very exceptional.
But it is strange that things slows down, how many memory do you have in your box ?

It is a known issue that php leaks memory in older versions, maybe better to upgrade to the latest php 5.


Steffen
Back to top
Jcink



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar '06 22:45    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 1gig of memory.

I'm not sure then Embarassed I get confused all the time with this stuff.

I will try upgrading to PHP5 and see if that fixes the problem. Thanks.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 15 Mar '06 0:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some users with hicks/slowdowns, helps the following directives:

Win32DisableAcceptEx
EnableSendfile Off
EnableMMAP off


Steffen
Back to top
Jcink



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar '06 4:02    Post subject: Darn... Reply with quote

Thanks I have tried all those fixes for a couple of days, upgraded to php5 and still... not good. However, Apache still lags on me. Crying or Very sad I have gone back to 1.3 again.

Do you have any other suggestions/ideas? Crying or Very sad
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar '06 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think up to 180kB memory usage is OK for Apache. Is there more than the high memory? Slow request handling? Speed problem?

If Apache 2 works fine run it, you have enough RAM!
Back to top
Jcink



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar '06 19:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I am having slow request handling. It's lagging. It doesn't work fine at all. I've done multiple tests and can 100% confirm it is in fact, apache2 that makes stuff slower.

And it only goes up to 70k-50k mem usage for me.

I wouldn't be bothered if it was just using a lot of memory but wasn't slow, but its really making a significant impact on my speed. I thought maybe since It was using more that's why it's slow. I might be wrong though.
Back to top
Jcink



Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar '06 7:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't find the problem.

However, I installed apache 2.2 from here.... with mod security and php5.... it rocks! It's going great, everything is fine. Very Happy
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1