logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X

Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Reply to topic   Topic: Apache, Windows XP Home, and virtual servers
Author
isavepets

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan '08 20:24    Post subject: Apache, Windows XP Home, and virtual servers Reply with quote

I am new to Apache but since XP home doesn't have IIS, I am trying to use apache as my local web server.

I have multiple sites I develop locally on my laptop. I am trying to create a local virtual host so I can user Model-Glue to develop.

I am finding it impossible (for me) to create virtual hosts to be able to both set a web root and test my dev sites.

Based on the following information can anyone send me what code I need to create a virtual server(s) on my laptop and let me know how I can call them locally (localhost):

Actual file directory/root: C:\Program Files\Apache\htdocs\isavepets

Also, since this is dev on my personal laptop, I am not concerned about really any security to access the site.

Could you kinda give me a step by step of what needs to be added or uncommented so I can access the sites. Also how do I call them from a URL.

Thanks for any help!
isavepets

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan '08 22:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the extra/httpd-vhosts file.

I have this now, but I can't seem to pull it up in a browser. Any way to either change it or to make it pull

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@isavepets.com
DocumentRoot "/Program Files/apache/htdocs/isavepets"
ServerName isavepets.localhost
ServerAlias isavepets.localhost