logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: PHP :: 500 Internal Server Error
Author
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 1:18    Post subject: PHP :: 500 Internal Server Error Reply with quote

Hi guys!

I have Apache server on WinXP machine, and I have a very odd problem with it:

My server was running for a couple of years and all works fine but 2 weeks ago Apache starts generate “HTTP/1.0 500 Internal Server Error” on any PHP errors. Pages without php errors are working fine.

PHP works fine by itself. When I’m trying to run any script with errors in console, PHP displays all errors correctly.

But when I’m trying to run it through Apache, it doesn’t display anything and get me following response:
Quote:
HTTP/1.0 500 Internal Server Error
Date: Tue, 19 Feb 2008 23:07:57 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.6 (Win32) PHP/5.2.4
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.4


And nothing else!

I was trying to make it write errors in log file (error_log = "C:\PHP\error.log" in PHP.INI) – the same thing!
If I run script from console, errors has been written in the log file. If I run scripts from Apache, nothing has been written at all.

I’ve checked apache log files – nothing useful, only lines like this one:
Quote:
127.0.0.30 - - [20/Feb/2008:02:07:57 +0300] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 500 –


I was trying to uninstall Apache and PHP, trying to install various combination on Apache, Apache2, Apache2.2, PHP4 and PHP5 – the same thing.

I’ve already spent a week on this problem Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad , have you any ideas?

PS. Sorry for my English.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 10:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you setup PHP in your httpd.conf? Which version of PHP and Apache do you use?
Back to top
bentogoa



Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Posts: 66
Location: GOA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

set the error logging to debug in apache, then check error.log in apache\logs\ folder
Back to top
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
How did you setup PHP in your httpd.conf? Which version of PHP and Apache do you use?


Apache 2.2.6 and PHP 5.2.4, but I've tryied various combinations of Apache/PHP versions.

This is PHP setup lines from my httpd.conf:
Quote:
LoadModule php5_module "C:/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html
ScriptAlias /PHP/ "c:/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
Action application/x-httpd-php "/php/php.exe"
PHPIniDir "C:/PHP/"
Back to top
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 13:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

bentogoa wrote:
set the error logging to debug in apache, then check error.log in apache\logs\ folder


I've tryied to set loglevel to debug, but when I run PHP script with errors, nothing has been written to apache\logs\error.log

This is what I get there, when Apache started:

Quote:
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:34 2008] [notice] Parent: Received shutdown signal -- Shutting down the server.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:34 2008] [notice] Child 2364: Exit event signaled. Child process is ending.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:35 2008] [info] Child 2364: Accept thread exiting.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:35 2008] [notice] Child 2364: Released the start mutex
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:35 2008] [info] Child 2364: 250 threads blocked on the completion port
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:36 2008] [notice] Child 2364: Waiting for 250 worker threads to exit.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:36 2008] [notice] Child 2364: All worker threads have exited.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:36 2008] [notice] Child 2364: Child process is exiting
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:36 2008] [notice] Parent: Child process exited successfully.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:36 2008] [info] removed PID file C:/Program Files/Apache Software Foundation/Apache2.2/logs/httpd.pid (pid=412)
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:49 2008] [notice] Apache/2.2.6 (Win32) PHP/5.2.4 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:49 2008] [notice] Server built: Sep 5 2007 08:58:56
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:49 2008] [notice] Parent: Created child process 2872
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:49 2008] [debug] mpm_winnt.c(487): Parent: Sent the scoreboard to the child
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [notice] Child 2872: Child process is running
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [info] Parent: Duplicating socket 212 and sending it to child process 2872
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [debug] mpm_winnt.c(605): Parent: Sent 1 listeners to child 2872
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [debug] mpm_winnt.c(408): Child 2872: Retrieved our scoreboard from the parent.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [debug] mpm_winnt.c(564): Child 2872: retrieved 1 listeners from parent
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [notice] Child 2872: Acquired the start mutex.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [notice] Child 2872: Starting 250 worker threads.
[Wed Feb 20 14:03:51 2008] [notice] Child 2872: Starting thread to listen on port 80.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 13:13    Post subject: Reply with quote

The error is using php.exe! You should use php-cgi.exe
Also you added two times the php extension. To the module and the cgi.

You also can setup PHP as F(ast)CGI which is much faster.
Back to top
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
The error is using php.exe! You should use php-cgi.exe
Also you added two times the php extension. To the module and the cgi.

You also can setup PHP as F(ast)CGI which is much faster.


I've tryied
Quote:
LoadModule php5_module "C:/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html
Action application/x-httpd-php "/php/php-cgi.exe"
PHPIniDir "C:/PHP/"


as well as with fast_cgi

Quote:
LoadModule fastcgi_module modules/mod_fastcgi.dll

<IfModule mod_fcgid.c>

IPCCommTimeout 40
IPCConnectTimeout 10
MaxProcessCount 8
OutputBufferSize 64
ProcessLifeTime 240
MaxRequestsPerProcess 500

<Directory />
AddHandler fcgid-script .fcgi
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks ExecCGI
FCGIWrapper "C:/PHP/php-cgi.exe" .fcgi
AllowOverride all
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
Satisfy any
</Directory>

</IfModule>

LoadModule php5_module "C:/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html
#ScriptAlias /PHP/ "c:/PHP/"
#Action application/x-httpd-php "/php/php-cgi.exe"
PHPIniDir "C:/PHP/"


absolutely the same thing Crying or Very sad
Back to top
bentogoa



Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Posts: 66
Location: GOA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

try removing
Code:
FCGIWrapper "C:/PHP/php-cgi.exe" .fcgi
line
Back to top
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb '08 19:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

bentogoa wrote:
try removing
Code:
FCGIWrapper "C:/PHP/php-cgi.exe" .fcgi
line


Tryied this. The problem still remains Sad
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb '08 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without CGI set

Code:

PHPIniDir "C:/php"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
Back to top
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb '08 13:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
Without CGI set

Code:

PHPIniDir "C:/php"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps


I've tryied that all - nothings help. Moreover, I've tryied my http.conf on another machine and all works fine.

I think the problem is somewhere deeper in my system. But I have no any ideas where.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb '08 15:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you disable PHP does apache run than? Or is it a different problem?
Back to top
padre



Joined: 20 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb '08 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
If you disable PHP does apache run than? Or is it a different problem?


Yes.

The problem is I cannot to do any debugging on this server because I cannot see PHP errors at all.

It is still possible to run PHP scripts through command line, but sometime it is not appropriate solution.

PHP scripts work fine but when I try to run script with any error, Apache just generate 500 internal serrver error without any output.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: PHP :: 500 Internal Server Error View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software