logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: running PHP 4 and PHP 5 at the same time
Author
strigoi



Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr '06 18:18    Post subject: running PHP 4 and PHP 5 at the same time Reply with quote

Good day to all, just have a question, ive read that php 4 and php 5 can be added to the httpd to allow use of both, i have both installed on my webserver, and both are working, need to know how to add them to the httpd so i can use them, almost all of my website runs fine with php 4 x's but i have some newer scripts that require php 5 ( id rather just use php 5, But the phpbb install isnt liking it, and doesnt show all of the admin panel and registrations fail) if anyone can help, or show an example on how to add both life would get much easier around here.

thnx.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3049
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr '06 18:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need an extra extension, eg php4.

Try,

LoadFile "c:/php/php4ts.dll"
LoadModule php4_module "c:/php/php4apache2.dll"
PHPINIDir x:/xxxx/xxx
AddType application/x-httpd-php4 .php4


I tried once php5 as apaceh handler and php4 as cgi (extension .phpc), and that was working fine:

#ScriptAlias /phpc/ "D:/servers/apache/phpc/"
#AddType application/x-httpd-phpc .phpc
#Action application/x-httpd-phpc "/phpc/php-cgi.exe"
#SetEnv PHPRC D:/servers/apache/phpc


Steffen
Back to top
strigoi



Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon 08 May '06 2:58    Post subject: thnx Reply with quote

works like a charm, thnx
Back to top
jaimz



Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 11 May '06 18:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you do it like this, don't both versions of php have to use the same php.ini?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7288
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 11 May '06 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

yepp, if you comment some settings out, so PHP will use default settings and will work for PHP 4 and 5.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: running PHP 4 and PHP 5 at the same time View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software