logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



Migrating some perl scripts to apache from IIS ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Coding & Scripting Corner



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
J_Witmyer



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2
Location: PA

PostPosted: Tue 23 May '06 16:19    Post subject: HI ALL QUESTIONS Reply with quote

Hi I am new to this site. I am glad to finally find some stinkin win32 apache support. its like unless you run nix then you shouldn't run apache. As we all know it isn't like this.

I am migrating some perl based webs to apache from IIS on win2k for the first time and I have some questions.

The first thing I noticed is that some pages that I was using SSI have an issue about the current working directory. I am calling a script from cgi-bin in a line like :

<!--#exec cgi="/cgi-bin/classes.pl"-->
<!--SST.#MONTHLIST=
<li><a href="cgi-bin\classes.pl?MONTH=%MONTH%&YEAR=%YEAR%&template=schedule-CLASSLIST.stm">%MONTHNAME% %YEAR%</a></li>
-->

The lines aren't really inprotant but in IIS I didn't need the cgi-bin/ that I now in apache need. My question is about control of the current working directory and how I should go about maybe making apache handle this more like IIS.

I have another question about logs. I have the module that is avalible on this site called mod_log_rotate. I just put it in the conf but I don't see any changes I set the time to 60 and nothing. The reason I want to use this is because the rotatelogs.exe won't let apache start it will just hang.

Any help with these questions would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 23 May '06 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need the cgi-bin folder, if you allow to use perl in any directority from the web server.

e.g.
Code:

DocumentRoot "/server2/www"

<Directory "/server2/www">
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks +ExecCGI
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
</Directory>
Back to top
J_Witmyer



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2
Location: PA

PostPosted: Wed 24 May '06 15:50    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

hi thanks for your response

any tips on using the rotatelog module
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Coding & Scripting Corner
Page 1 of 1