logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Need some help making PHP more stable. (PHP 5.3.3)
Author
snookieboy



Joined: 03 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug '10 16:57    Post subject: Need some help making PHP more stable. (PHP 5.3.3) Reply with quote

Hello,

First of all, I am at whits end with Apache, Iv spent the last 4 days of my life playing with its configuration, as well as PHP's configuration to try and make it more stable without much luck.

This is an urgent pley for help, and not only that but I will happily offer a $10 donation for the person who solves the problem over PayPal as a thank you.

Let me explain the problem:

I use to use Apache 2.2.15 with PHP 5.2.14, it was relevetivaly stable, it only crashed around twice a day on a busy site which was "acceptable" seems it instantly restarted without much notice. Since upgrading to 2.2.16 and PHP 5.3.3 and doing the same thing, I am now getting daily crashes at least once every two hours, which has gone from a once or twice crash a day, to at least 12 times a day, and its starting to effect users who are downloading and so fourth.

The configuration. Its running on a Server 2008 x64 box, 2GB of Ram with a Core 2 Duo processor. It runs a Vbulletin forum, using mod_rewrite and requires SSL and cURL support. We use to use XCache, but that became too unstable so stopped getting used. We currently use the Apache standard configuration to link it to PHP, using:

Code:
LoadModule php5_module "c:/inetpub/php533/php5apache2_2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
PHPIniDir "c:/inetpub/php533"


Now, I know I could do FastCGI and other configurations, but I have had a lot of problems with them, I'm begging for a fix which keeps the current configuration, but tweaks either PHP.ini or httpd.conf to make it a bit more stable.

The problem with PHP configuration is that we support 250mb attachments, and therefore have to allow a large amount of data to be posted and so fourth, so I have had to take that into account.

We are using the Thread Safe PHP 5.3.3 as recommended, and VC9 just like the web server. I have messed around with process explorer as well as the PATH variable, and made sure the scripts are loading the correct DLL's and not old ones which was my first guess. Problem persists.

We are running 32-bit Apache and PHP, even though its a 64-bit box, as the host OS may later be changing to a 32-bit install due to moving to a lower cost box perhaps at a later date. However, the MySQL database server is using 64-bit, as it is unrelated I assume.

I'm getting two errors in the Event log, the first to do with php5ts.dll is the one experienced every hour or two:

Code:
Faulting application name: httpd.exe, version: 2.2.16.0, time stamp: 0x4c5340fc
Faulting module name: php5ts.dll, version: 5.3.3.0, time stamp: 0x4c47440f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000c5f9
Faulting process id: 0x1500
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb41f35a0d7d9a
Faulting application path: C:\inetpub\Apache2.2\bin\httpd.exe
Faulting module path: C:\inetpub\php533\php5ts.dll

Then the NTDLL.dll occasionally

Code:
Faulting application name: httpd.exe, version: 2.2.16.0, time stamp: 0x4c5340fc
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16559, time stamp: 0x4ba9b29c
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0002dea6
Faulting process id: 0xd94
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb42022d2a21ef
Faulting application path: C:\inetpub\Apache2.2\bin\httpd.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll


The PHP Configuration file can be viewed at:
http://nimrod-online.com/phpconfigefile.txt


If anyone can solve this problem, I will be more than happy to pay them via PayPal for there assistance as I am honestly lost at this stage. Currently the Apache Web Server is running as the LocalUser in System services, to help me find the problem without permission errors.

Thank you in advanced anyone who can help Smile
Back to top
muthuk



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug '10 15:43    Post subject: Apache 2.2.15 Reply with quote

Hi,

I am also having the same issue. We are using Apache 2.2.15/16 (we tried both) with PHP 5.3.2 VC9 Build.

Faulting application httpd.exe, version 2.2.16.0, time stamp 0x4c4c1cfa, faulting module php5ts.dll, version 5.3.2.0, time stamp 0x4b8ec7e7, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x000ae895, process id 0x9e8, application start time 0x01cb429c4bb3c683.

Operating system: win2008 32 bit Enterprise Service pack 2

We are not using any FastCGI configurations.

We have also seen that...

The Handle count of the child httpd process keep on increasing and Httpd.exe crash occurred whenever the handle count reaches approx 2000.


Any help would be really appreciated.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug '10 19:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a request or a script in that time apache crashes? If you compare the logs do you see anything? it would be great to have a script to reproduce the crash.

Using FCGID can help you that php might crash but don't crash apache.
Back to top
cyclone



Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Location: St Louis

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug '10 6:05    Post subject: Re: Apache 2.2.15 Reply with quote

muthuk wrote:

The Handle count of the child httpd process keep on increasing and Httpd.exe crash occurred whenever the handle count reaches approx 2000.


Doesnt Apache have a default 2048 handle count max?

Options would be to use mod_fcgid (get the one in the 3rd party modules forum post 2.3.5b) or roll back to the previous version of PHP that worked for you. Ask yourself do you really need any functionality or security fixes in the newest version of PHP? If not use the one that works.
Back to top
huntor



Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug '10 6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also having problems with windows 2008 64bit and using any version of php 5.3.x.

php 5.2.14 runs fine.

But I also had issues with just the apache version in general as far as MRU Web Service wont even load up on just a plain first time install. It doesn't even show as an option to turn on in Apache Service Monitor. However I got everything to work fine in a windows 7 setting.

Was wondering if anyone has a clue on why windows 2008 is not compatible?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug '10 12:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you have to install the runtime files. To check that open cmd.exe Goto the php path e.g. C:\php5 and than php -v

Code:

C:\windows\system32\>cd \
C:\>cd php5
C:\php5\>php -v
Back to top
cal-tec



Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 23 Nov '10 23:16    Post subject: Apache 2.2.17 PHP 5.3.3 Reply with quote

Hi,

Did anyone manage to solve this issue?

I am getting errors in my Event Log showing that apache.exe failed due to php5ts.dll.

These errors appear to occur randomly but can occur in fairly quick succession.

I am interested in any help possible

Fujitsu TX100 S2 Quad Core
Windows 2003 R2 x64
Apache 2.2.17
PHP 5.3.3

I need php 5.3 as i am using OOP for my application

Many Thanks


Calum
Back to top
muthuk



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 30 May '11 6:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you all for the comments.
I am still having the same issue in Win2008 System. We have to use PHP 5.3.2 as some of our modules requires it.

This is happening, when we open 7-8 browsers to access our we site.

I could not use fcgi.

Any clues...?
Back to top
muthuk



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 30 May '11 7:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

muthuk wrote:
Thank you all for the comments.
I am still having the same issue in Win2008 System. We have to use PHP 5.3.2 as some of our modules requires it.

This is happening, when we open 7-8 browsers to access our we site.
Windows 2008 R2 64 bit
1 GB RAM

Process monitor shows the handle count nearly 2000 when the crash occured.


Faulting application name: httpd.exe, version: 2.2.15.0, time stamp: 0x4b916754
Faulting module name: php5ts.dll, version: 5.3.2.0, time stamp: 0x4b8ec7e7
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000bfb7
Faulting process id: 0x1324
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc1aff30d82a6b
Faulting application path: C:AcerSmartClientManagerApache2.2binhttpd.exe
Faulting module path: C:AcerSmartClientManagerphpphp5ts.dll
Report Id: e94b8ae8-86f2-11e0-9fa4-001cc055ed38

Any clues...?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 30 May '11 10:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you suse apache from apache lounge for apache.org? Did you isntall the run time files? Did you try to disable all extensions in php.ini?
Back to top
muthuk



Joined: 23 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 30 May '11 10:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got apache from apache lounge. All dependant libraries are installed. VC redist 2008 32 bit, .Net framework, etc. I will try checking disabling all extensions and see. Working fine with Windows 7 32 bit.

Also seeing httpd child process is taking more CPU usage (90%) frequently.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Need some help making PHP more stable. (PHP 5.3.3) View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software