logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



need to install prefork module?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun '11 10:15    Post subject: need to install prefork module? Reply with quote

Is there anyone who can share the experience and performance about prefork module at apache 2.X?And,what is the best value setting of prefork module?

regards
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun '11 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

prefork is only on Linux and unix systems. Do you use some kinda *nix system? If yes, which one?
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun '11 2:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.I don't use those kinds of OS.

If I use win32 OS,set the prefork module will not work finally?Or is there any other harm for win 32 OS?



James Blond wrote:
prefork is only on Linux and unix systems. Do you use some kinda *nix system? If yes, which one?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun '11 9:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

it simply isn't available on Windows. On Windows you have no choise using a different mpm.

What kind of improvement do you wanna have? Isn't winnt mpm running well for you?
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul '11 10:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond:

Does it inbuilt prefork module at winNT or win32 apache?I don't know what you mean.Can you explain ?Where can I find the winnt of mpm?

I want to use prefork module to reduce the increasing memory comsumption when apache is running.

I use winNT task to monitor the consumption of memory.I find the httpd.exe consumes the 350MB of memory.Is it normally?
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2580
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul '11 12:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

350 looks high.

What are you running with apache ?

For example running php as module consumes over time quite some memory. For a compare when running php not as module but FastCGI, see post http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=2492

There are other advantages running PHP with FCGI. Separating the PHP code from the web server removes 'bloat' from the main server, and improves the performance of non-PHP requests. Secondly, having one permanent PHP process as opposed to one per apache process means that shared resources like persistent MySQL connections are used more efficiently. And maybe even more important is stability, php is not shutting down or restarting Apache anymore.


Steffen
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul '11 5:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

steffen:

Thank your suggestion.

I try to use this configuration below.Is it right?

And,how do I know fcgid module be well configured and runing already?Is there any way to test it or not?

Code:

<IfModule mod_fcgid.so>

FcgidInitialEnv PHPRC "c:/php"
FcgidInitialEnv PATH "c:/php;C:/WINDOWS/system32;C:/WINDOWS;C:/WINDOWS/System32/Wbem;"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemRoot "C:/Windows"
FcgidInitialEnv SystemDrive "C:"
FcgidInitialEnv TEMP "C:/WINDOWS/Temp"
FcgidInitialEnv TMP "C:/WINDOWS/Temp"
FcgidInitialEnv windir "C:/WINDOWS"
FcgidIOTimeout 64
FcgidConnectTimeout 16
FcgidMaxRequestsPerProcess 500

<Files ~ "\.php$>"
  AddHandler fcgid-script .php
  FcgidWrapper "c:/php/php-cgi.exe" .php
</Files>

</IfModule>
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul '11 10:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another question:

Does the old bugs be sloved at mod_fcgid 2.3.6?Will mod_fcgid 2.3.6 cause some problems or apache crashed under OS no restart situation?
http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=3573

regards
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul '11 22:50    Post subject: Reply with quote

maskego wrote:
Another question:

Does the old bugs be sloved at mod_fcgid 2.3.6?Will mod_fcgid 2.3.6 cause some problems or apache crashed under OS no restart situation?
http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=3573

regards


Yes it does, at least for me and some others. That's why there is a "b" version on apachehaus. See http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=16831#16831 and following posts. See also Bug 50309
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 2:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond,

My apache ver is 2.2.19.

If I want to install mod_fcgid,I should install mod_fcgid2.3.6b?mod_fcgid2.3.6b prevents apache to crash when apache restarts.

right?

And,how to use that pach to avoid win crashed?
https://issues.apache.org/bugzilla/attachment.cgi?id=26332&action=edit




James Blond wrote:
maskego wrote:
Another question:

Does the old bugs be sloved at mod_fcgid 2.3.6?Will mod_fcgid 2.3.6 cause some problems or apache crashed under OS no restart situation?
http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=3573

regards


Yes it does, at least for me and some others. That's why there is a "b" version on apachehaus. See http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=16831#16831 and following posts. See also Bug 50309
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 6:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those errors show at error.log.

How to tune [Mon Jul 04 12:12:58 2011] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll ?


Code:
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.19 (Win32) PHP/5.2.17 mod_fcgid/2.3.6 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Server built: May 21 2011 17:38:08
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Parent: Created child process 3576
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Child 420: Released the start mutex
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Child 3576: Child process is running
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Child 3576: Acquired the start mutex.
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Child 3576: Starting 64 worker threads.
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:46 2011] [notice] Child 3576: Starting thread to listen on port 80.
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:47 2011] [notice] Child 420: All worker threads have exited.
[Mon Jul 04 12:11:52 2011] [notice] Child 420: Child process is exiting
[Mon Jul 04 12:12:58 2011] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll
[Mon Jul 04 12:12:58 2011] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2123
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 8:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

put the ADSAdClient31.dll in the C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll

not really sure you should, but that would remove that one error
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 8:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't find "ADSAdClient31.dll" at my apache folders.It's so strange.


glsmith wrote:
put the ADSAdClient31.dll in the C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll

not really sure you should, but that would remove that one error
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2123
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 8:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, it looks like you are trying to request it with a browser, why I have no clue, what it is I have no clue.

or

do you have a

LoadFile C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll

somewhere in your config?
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 11:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

I check that.There is no other conf files to config this file.I have no idea about this file too.Question

glsmith wrote:
well, it looks like you are trying to request it with a browser, why I have no clue, what it is I have no clue.

or

do you have a

LoadFile C:/apache/www/ADSAdClient31.dll

somewhere in your config?


Last edited by maskego on Mon 04 Jul '11 11:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 11:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

And,Does mod_fcgid 2.3.6 run smooth at win 32 apache 2.2.19?I am afraid of apache getting crashed after install this module. Smile
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2580
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul '11 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

Search Google with ADSAdClient31.dll and you see a lot of hits.


To be sure how it goes in your situation with mod_fcgid, you should test it. PHP as module has far more chance for craching then mod_fcgid, experience here tells us.

Steffen
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul '11 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

steffen:

Do you mean mod_fcid is more stable to perform php scrpits than mod_php?


Steffen wrote:
Search Google with ADSAdClient31.dll and you see a lot of hits.


To be sure how it goes in your situation with mod_fcgid, you should test it. PHP as module has far more chance for craching then mod_fcgid, experience here tells us.

Steffen
Back to top
maskego



Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul '11 9:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

I install mod_fcgid.

The memory usage is higher still.It keeps at 400 MB average,and max value is 800MB that I ever seen.

I guess the reason is that mod_security consume more memory resource.It needs to parse the log files,I think. Rolling Eyes
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1