logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X

Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Reply to topic   Topic: Another 403 error upon fresh install.
Author
Gottso

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jun '06 13:58    Post subject: Another 403 error upon fresh install. Reply with quote

Hello all. I'm new to apache/PHP/this forum.

I have installed Apache 2.2.2 , MySQL 4.1.20 and PHP 5.1.4 on my computer. All seemed to have installed correctly, until I went to test my PHP.

Upon creating a phpinfo file in my htdocs folder and trying to load it in my browser, i get a 403 error.

My OS is Win XP.

My httpd.conf has all the default permissions within.

I tried to tinker a little with the httpd.conf permissions to no avail.

The only option I see for permissions under XP is read - only when i Rclick and go to properties of a file/folder. Read only is checked off and sort of greyed out....and when i uncheck it, it doesnt give me an error, but doesnt seem to "take" as when i Rclick on it again, the check is back.

I am logged in as computer administrator so I do not know why this change is not taking place.

Any info or ideas you may have, I appreciate. Any further info you need from me, just post away.

Thanks.

G
James Blond

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jun '06 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any message in the error log?

I think you changed a path in the httpd.conf for the docroot and forgert secondly to change the second path for it? Am I right?

e.g.
Code:

DocumentRoot "/server2/www"

#when ever you change the docroot change this path too
<Directory "/server2/www">