logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



site 10x slower on new server

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Other Software



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
h0us3cat



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan '13 20:50    Post subject: site 10x slower on new server Reply with quote

So i moved to a new server and updated everything (apache, php, mysql).
I also moved from the php apachehandler to fastcgi because apache/php was crashing all the time. The problem now is that my sites that use php are +-10 times slower then on my old server. It is not apache because big files download fast and it is not mysql because when i connect to a database on the new server on the old server the pages load fine.
For example this is running on the new server:
Code:
http://www.myminecraft.org/?_debug=1

And this is the old server:
Code:
http://176.9.103.166/?_debug=1

2nd example (connecting both to the new mysql server).
New server:
Code:
stats.myminecraft.org/

Old server:
Code:
http://176.9.103.166/stats/


Old server was on win2008r2:
Code:
http://176.9.103.166/info.php

New server is on winserver2012
Code:
http://myminecraft.org/info.php
Back to top
h0us3cat



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan '13 22:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobody?
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 794
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan '13 22:59    Post subject: Re: site 10x slower on new server Reply with quote

h0us3cat wrote:
For example this is running on the new server:
Code:
http://www.myminecraft.org/?_debug=1

And this is the old server:
Code:
http://176.9.103.166/?_debug=1


They do not seem to be the same. On your old server only 8 or 9 queries are needed, on the new one 18 or 19 in less than twice the time!?
Back to top
h0us3cat



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan '13 7:29    Post subject: Re: site 10x slower on new server Reply with quote

Jan-E wrote:
h0us3cat wrote:
For example this is running on the new server:
Code:
http://www.myminecraft.org/?_debug=1

And this is the old server:
Code:
http://176.9.103.166/?_debug=1


They do not seem to be the same. On your old server only 8 or 9 queries are needed, on the new one 18 or 19 in less than twice the time!?


I dont know why that is, but its not about the querie time, the problem is the page time.

edit: ok i copied the old apache+php folder to my new server i started that to see if that helps and guess what? It is slow. So its not apache or php or mysql?
Only different thing is the operating system and the hardware/network, but the hardware is better and the network work is fine, so what else can it be?
Back to top
h0us3cat



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan '13 9:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed it.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan '13 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

h0us3cat wrote:
fixed it.


How did you fix it?
Back to top
h0us3cat



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan '13 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
h0us3cat wrote:
fixed it.


How did you fix it?


Was using localhost to connect to mysql, tried 127.0.0.1. And it was faster after i did that. Google said its a bug in windows...
Back to top
bagu



Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 129
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan '13 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

To use localhost on system up to vista without lags, try this trick :

Launch notepad with admin rights
Edit C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts
Add :
127.0.0.1 localhost

Save and reboot
Back to top
h0us3cat



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan '13 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

bagu wrote:
To use localhost on system up to vista without lags, try this trick :

Launch notepad with admin rights
Edit C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts
Add :
127.0.0.1 localhost

Save and reboot


Already did that, looks like hosts is ignored and yes i also tried the delete > new hosts file trick.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan '13 23:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well from Vista on localhost point to IPv6 ::1 and some kinda how the windows php mysql connector can't connect to IPv6 that is why I use 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost in the config.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Other Software
Page 1 of 1