logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X

Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Dynamic DNS, Apache and Port Forwarding still shows IP?
Author
wjroberts

PostPosted: Sun 22 Dec '13 7:48    Post subject: Dynamic DNS, Apache and Port Forwarding still shows IP? Reply with quote

I figured this was the best place to post, so...

I am fairly new to server administration and I am learning a lot through this process. I recently built a small dual purpose server that hosts a website and doubles as a NAS and media frontend. Additionally, I got dynamic DNS service with noip.com so that I could access my server with a name instead of the IP address. Everything (for the most part) works just fine. When I point my browser to www.mysite.com, it works just fine. Through noip.com, I can setup port 80 redirections so that it simulates going to that port from a subdomain name. The issue that I am having is that the name resolves just fine in accordance with the DDNS service on noip.com, but it immediately switches back to the IP address in the address bar on any browser. (for instance, when I go to webmin.mysite.com, it goes to 123.123.123.123:10000 in the address bar). It's a little thing, but it never keeps the domain name in the address bar. I am not sure if I need to configure apache differently, add a virtualhost, or manage the ports on the server instead of managing the port forwards on my router. There are several ports that I have forwarded and thro