logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



virtual hosts apache windows resolve locally but not externa
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:23    Post subject: virtual hosts apache windows resolve locally but not externa Reply with quote

hi my virtual host resolve locally but but not externally only the first container seems to be active.
My windows host file reads as follows and DNS is set to forward to my ip

# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost
127.0.0.1 www.aacomputersandconsoles.co.uk
127.0.0.1 aacomputersandconsoles.co.uk
127.0.0.1 www.guildwebsites.co.uk
127.0.0.1 guildwebsites.co.uk
127.0.0.1 www.defenderofaszune.guildwebsites.co.uk
127.0.0.1 defenderofaszune.guildwebsites.co.uk

My Httpd reads

# Virtual hosts
Include conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf

and my virtual host file reads as follows

NameVirtualHost *:80
#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for all requests that do not
# match a ##ServerName or ##ServerAlias in any <VirtualHost> block.
#

<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot "e:/xampp/htdocs/aacomputersandconsoles" #only this directory is active externally all web addresses end up in this directory
ServerName www.aacomputersandconsoles.co.uk

</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot "e:/xampp/htdocs/guildwebsites"
ServerName www.guildwebsites.co.uk
ServerAlias *.guildwebsites.co.uk

</VirtualHost>

Any ideas why these only resolve locally and why only the first container is active externally as i have spent hours working on this problem.

Thanks in advance

LEE Very Happy
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

By externally I assume you mean other computers on the LAN. Since you're not using DNS, each external computer also has to have those in a host file but pointing to the servers LAN IP.
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:33    Post subject: Reply with quote

my dns for both domains point to my enternal ip address my router is configured to forward port 80 to my computer on the lan.
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

correction dns record with the domain name provider points to my external ip address.
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure port 80 is not blocked by Virgin?
Do you see a 68.7.xxx.x being blocked in your routers log?
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

port 80 is definately not blocked by virgin as i can access http://www.aacomputersandconsoles.co.uk index page ok from outside the lan
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

but if you access http://www.guildwebsites.co.uk it reverts to http://www.aacomputersandconsoles.co.uk index page
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

apache was disabled
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 11:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, what is the main hosts document root in httpd.conf
It was timing out when I tried but I see you now
A A Computers and Consoles


Last edited by glsmith on Sat 04 Oct '14 12:07; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 12:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

# DocumentRoot: The directory out of which you will serve your
# documents. By default, all requests are taken from this directory, but
# symbolic links and aliases may be used to point to other locations.
#
DocumentRoot "E:/xampp/htdocs"

that is the entire httpd.conf file

Moderator's Edit: the rest of the entire conf file
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 12:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, this is breaking my brain but it is way past my bedtime. in your OP you are showing Xampp on Windows
DocumentRoot "e:/xampp/htdocs/aacomputersandconsoles"

But when your site answers, here is what I am seeing in the headers.
http://www.guildwebsites.co.uk/

GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: www.guildwebsites.co.uk
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.0; rv:24.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/24.0
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
Accept-Language: en-US,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
DNT: 1
Referer: http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=28817
Connection: keep-alive
Cache-Control: max-age=0

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Sat, 04 Oct 2014 09:45:52 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.1.6
Content-Length: 596
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

You're running xampp behind a proxy it looks to me. If this is the case, your problem lies there.
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 12:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

im new to all this how can i tell if it running behind a proxy? and how to i sort it if that is the case?
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 12:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just tried http://www.lagado.com/proxy-test and it states im not behind a proxy
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 12:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also if I swap the container in vhosts file you get guildwebsites index instead of aa computers
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 15:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

was suggested that my modem/router wasnt http 1.1 compliant
error logs shows
[Sat Oct 04 10:52:47.441031 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5380:tid 404] AH00456: Apache Lounge VC11 Server built: Jul 17 2014 11:50:08
[Sat Oct 04 10:52:47.441031 2014] [core:notice] [pid 5380:tid 404] AH00094: Command line: 'e:\\xampp\\apache\\bin\\httpd.exe -d E:/xampp/apache'
[Sat Oct 04 10:52:47.443034 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5380:tid 404] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 5452
AH00548: NameVirtualHost has no effect and will be removed in the next release E:/xampp/apache/conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf:20
[Sat Oct 04 10:52:47.904957 2014] [ssl:warn] [pid 5452:tid 392] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Sat Oct 04 10:52:48.076033 2014] [ssl:warn] [pid 5452:tid 392] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Sat Oct 04 10:52:48.104061 2014] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 5452:tid 392] AH00354: Child: Starting 150 worker threads.

acees log shows

127.0.0.1 - - [04/Oct/2014:11:15:19 +0100] "GET /favicon.ico HTTP/1.1" 404 1068 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/37.0.2062.124 Safari/537.36"
6.210-157-192.rdns.scalabledns.com - - [04/Oct/2014:11:19:31 +0100] "GET /web-console/ServerInfo.jsp HTTP/1.1" 404 1057 "-" "-"
before.guardshop.info - - [04/Oct/2014:11:19:52 +0100] "GET /web-console/ServerInfo.jsp HTTP/1.1" 404 1057 "-" "-"
78-60-1-101.static.zebra.lt - - [04/Oct/2014:11:22:39 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 219 "() { :;}; echo \"BigBang: \" $(</etc/passwd)" "() { :;}; echo \"BigBang: \" $(</etc/passwd)"
crawl-66-249-67-33.googlebot.com - - [04/Oct/2014:11:29:09 +0100] "GET /robots.txt HTTP/1.1" 404 1057 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)"
crawl-66-249-67-49.googlebot.com - - [04/Oct/2014:11:29:09 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 219 "http://www.aacomputersandconsoles.co.uk/" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)"
crawl-66-249-67-41.googlebot.com - - [04/Oct/2014:11:29:28 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 219 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)"
cpc2-leic17-2-0-cust884.8-1.cable.virginm.net - - [04/Oct/2014:14:08:21 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 219 "http://www.guildwebsites.co.uk/" "Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.3; en-gb; GT-I9300 Build/JSS15J) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30"
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also if i click admin from Xampp control panel it takes me to aa computers and consoles page rather than the admin page
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, had to get a few hours sleep.

In the name based virtual hosting docs there is an oddly worded paragraph about the first vhost needing to be a duplicate of the main host. Since yours is
c:/xampp/htdocs, try as the first one

<VirtialHost _default_:80>
DocumentRoot c:/xampp/htdocs
</VirtialHost>
Back to top
leecooper2013



Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 25
Location: uk, leicester

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct '14 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

no problem, I appreciate all your help.
added the default host and still no joy at all.
I'm assuming you meant to put it in Httpd-Vhost file??

Regards

Lee
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Oct '14 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

I must ask, did you restart the server after you made the change? You would be amazed how many do not.

78-60-1-101.static.zebra.lt - - [04/Oct/2014:11:22:39 +0100] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 219 "() { :;}; echo \"BigBang: \" $(</etc/passwd)" "() { :;}; echo \"BigBang: \" $(</etc/passwd)"

Someone looking for Shellshock, I've yet to see one of these in my logs.
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Oct '14 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

One other thing

DocumentRoot "e:/xampp/htdocs/aacomputersandconsoles" #only this directory is active externally all web addresses end up in this directory

Do not add comments after directives, use the line above. Apache looks at the first non-whitespace character for the # to decide if it's a comment line or not. This can (not saying in your case) cause problems.

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.4/configuring.html
Quote:
Directives in the configuration files are case-insensitive, but arguments to directives are often case sensitive. Lines that begin with the hash character "#" are considered comments, and are ignored. Comments may not be included on a line after a configuration directive. Blank lines and white space occurring before a directive are ignored, so you may indent directives for clarity.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2