logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored by anyone.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing the building of the binaries.



Domain redirect to dynamic ip web host.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Miiikke



Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jan '16 14:05    Post subject: Domain redirect to dynamic ip web host. Reply with quote

Hello!

I'm a hosting a web site at my apache server (www.fragmania.one). I bought the domain at one.com and redirecting the address from one.com to my own server with dynamic ip.

My current settings for redirecting is:
DOMAIN TYPE VALUE
www.fragmania.one CNAME my.exampledns.org

DOMAIN TYPE VALUE
fragmania.one A Default

For the A type I'm using standard settings and I have uploaded an index.php file that will redirect to www.fragmania.one.

index.php:
<?php
header("location:http://www.fragmania.one/");
?>

Now to my questions:
1. Is this the best way to do when i have dynamic ip?
2. Any problems that may occur when i redirect this way?

I cant use one.com for hosting the website because it need to communicate locally with my game servers when they are online.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6189
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jan '16 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

the best way (for me) is to have a CNAME for fragmania.one poiting to a dyn DNS name. So you don't have to change the A record over and over again.

The redirection is fine.
Back to top
Miiikke



Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan '16 11:53    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i use CNAME at one.com I cant redirect fragmania.one. It says CNAME cant be used on root level.

But thx for the answer. I just wanted some confirmation about my redirection and it works fine so i will probably keep it like this. (:
Back to top
bentogoa



Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Posts: 66
Location: GOA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan '16 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats a limitation by the company whos DNS services ur using. Try using 3party DNS service like FreeDNS by changing name servers.
Also note email will not work for this domain.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking
Page 1 of 1