logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



How to create .so file on windows?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache Building & Member Downloads



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rosy



Joined: 27 Apr 2016
Posts: 3
Location: India

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jun '16 18:03    Post subject: How to create .so file on windows? Reply with quote

Hi,

I am running apache webserver(2.4 version) on windows server 2012.

I want to create a .so module which I can load on apache.

Can anyone help me on how to create .so files on windows? or else can anyone provide me a sample code?


Thanks
Rosy
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6225
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun '16 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rosy,

the .so extension is a bit misleading. The naming comes from the origins on linux. All modules on windows are dll files with the .so extension in the name.

a very easy and short example module can be found here https://github.com/JBlond/mod_moo
There is also a small how to compile it in the readme file.

if you still have a question please ask again.
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun '16 18:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

Semi-Off Topic:

@JBlond

You should probably add a /manifest in the link lines for VS 2013 & 2015 for moo cow. I actually do not think you have to embed manifests anymore but it doesn't hurt and you will not get one in these versions without the /manifest switch so the embedding (MT) will fail, not that it matters it just looks ugly when it happens.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6225
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun '16 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never used that flag and it always worked with VC9 and VC 11.

I thought that 2013 and 2015 so longer need that MT line at all. Am I wrong?
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2121
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun '16 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

No you are not wrong. I was just saying that following those instruction on VC12/14 the MT part will error, possibly causing those who do not know, to think they have an unusable module.
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache Building & Member Downloads
Page 1 of 1