logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Building & Member Downloads View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Keep the VC14 command prompt after install VC15
Author
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr '17 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note for all that install VS 2017 (VC15) besides VS 2015 (VC14): if you want to keep the VC14 command prompts to be the same as before, you'll have to add an extra argument to the command prompt.

For instance, this was the VS2015 x64 Native Tools Command Prompt:

Code:
%comspec% /k ""C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat"" amd64


After installing Visual Studio 2017, this command prompt will use Windows kit version 10. If you still want to use version 8.1 of the Windows kit, for instance for compiling PHP 7.0 or 7.1, a second argument is needed:

Code:
%comspec% /k ""C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat"" amd64 8.1
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3049
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr '17 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have only installed VC15 on the box, did not changed anything and my command prompt is :


%comspec% /k "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Professional\VC\Auxiliary\Build\vcvars32.bat
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr '17 13:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is the 'x86 Native Tools Command Prompt for VS 2017'
Visual Studio 2017 > Visual Studio Tools > VC

The VS 2015 command prompts are here:
Visual Studio 2015 > Visual Studio Tools > Windows Desktop Command Prompts
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr '17 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone notice there's a 15.1 already? That's the fastest update so far of any VC version. Is 15 going to be a nightmare? I wonder.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3049
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr '17 20:56    Post subject: Reply with quote

history:

https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/news/releasenotes/vs2017-relnotes
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 2:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like Microsoft is following the changes in the supported platforms more rapidly. The 15.1 update coincides with the availability of the Windows 10 Creators update. Another VC15 update follows the availability of iOS 10.3 and XCode 8.3. This seems a logical and sensible update policy to me.

Talking about nightmares: XCode (Apple's IDE) really brought a surprise. To develop for iOS 10.3 (a minor update from iOS 10.2) a minor update of XCode is required (from 8.2 to 8.3), but a major (!) update of macOS. From macOS El Capitan to macOS Sierra. Developers on old Mac's that cannot be upgraded to macOS Sierra are really out-of-luck. Visual Studio 2017 still runs fine on Windows 7...

BTW. Do not install the Windows 10 Creators update manually:
https://blogs.windows.com/windowsexperience/2017/04/25/windows-10-creators-update-rollout-first-phase-update/


Last edited by Jan-E on Wed 26 Apr '17 2:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 2:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote from https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=35243#35243
Steffen wrote:
Note form MS:
There are a lot of improvements in the C++ compilers and libraries in this release of Visual Studio that will entice you to move to Visual Studio 2017's latest toolset (v141) - new standard conformance features, improved codegen, faster build throughput.

This one surprised me. Up until now the toolsets were closely tied to the VC version. VS 2008 - VC9 -> v90, VS 2012 - VC11 -> v110, VS 2015 - VC14 -> v140, but VS 2017 - VC15 brings only v141. This reflects the binary compatibility of builds by VC14 and VC15, but the numbering system is more confusing then ever before.
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 3:23    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jan-E wrote:
Up until now the toolsets were closely tied to the VC version. VS 2008 - VC9 -> v90, VS 2012 - VC11 -> v110, VS 2015 - VC14 -> v140, but VS 2017 - VC15 brings only v141. This reflects the binary compatibility of builds by VC14 and VC15, but the numbering system is more confusing then ever before.

Wouldn't it be that Microsoft gradually drops the VC-numbering? We are calling Visual Studio 2017 VC15, but what is the ground for that?

Even the redistributables do not call themselves VC15. See https://www.visualstudio.com/downloads/
Bottom > Open 'Other Tools and Frameworks' > Lowest download.

When installing the VS 2017 redistributable, it announces it self as 'Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Redistributable (x64) - 14.10.25017'.

Should we drop 'VC15' in favour of 'VS2017'?

Edit: See http://news.php.net/php.internals.win/1173 as well.
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 9:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jan-E wrote:
Should we drop 'VC15' in favour of 'VS2017'?


No, we should drop the stupid YYYY when speaking of VC. VS is more than just VC++.

VC numbers come from the linker version.

VC9
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 9.00.30729.01

VC14
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 14.00.23506.0
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3049
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have compiler, toolset, linker etc. versions. Overall it is called VC15 by ms, see e.g. about.

So we keep VC15
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 11:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

glsmith wrote:
VC numbers come from the linker version.

VC9
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 9.00.30729.01

VC14
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 14.00.23506.0

And VC15 says it is 14.10

**********************************************************************
** Visual Studio 2017 Developer Command Prompt v15.0.26403.7
** Copyright (c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation
**********************************************************************
[vcvarsall.bat] Environment initialized for: 'x64'

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community>link
Microsoft (R) Incremental Linker Version 14.10.25019.0
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr '17 11:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steffen wrote:
We have compiler, toolset, linker etc. versions. Overall it is called VC15 by ms, see e.g. about.

So we keep VC15

About says it is Visual Studio 2017, version 15. And Visual C/C++ C# 2017. The verb 'VC15' is nowhere used by MS as far as I know. Definitely not in the about.

VS15 would be more appropiate than VC15, allthough that verb is not used by MS either.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Keep the VC14 command prompt after install VC15 View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Building & Member Downloads