logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



How To Remove Apache From Win10

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
abrogard



Joined: 06 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: australia, Adelaide

PostPosted: Fri 08 Sep '17 8:29    Post subject: How To Remove Apache From Win10 Reply with quote

I have IIS on win10 and suddenly can't see my localhost.

We find a process in task manager 'Apache HTTP Server' and stop it but that doesn't help.

We find a service in service manager 'Apache HTTP Server' but it is listed as stopped so there's no help there.

In order to troubleshoot this problem I'd like to uninstall Apache ( I have no recollection of actually installing it - and there's no Apache directory in 'Program Files' ).

How can I do that?
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2574
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Fri 08 Sep '17 9:50    Post subject: Reply with quote

To remove a service, see: https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/how-to-delete-a-windows-service-in-vista-or-xp/
Back to top
abrogard



Joined: 06 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: australia, Adelaide

PostPosted: Fri 08 Sep '17 10:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for that.

I read the warning about deleting - very difficult to put back.

So I wonder if anyone has any idea why that service is there?

What damage might I do by deleting it?

There could be other software that is using it?

I'm only guessing that it is the reason why I cannot access my home page. Maybe I'm wrong. Like to be certain first.

How could I access my home page - localhost, or even the web IP for it - using this Apache service instead of IIS? Stop IIS I guess? And then it should default to the Apache service?
Back to top
theyipper



Joined: 20 Sep 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep '17 11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could uninstall IIS through Control Panel > Windows Programs and Features
(or search for "windows features")


For some reason after one of the Windows 10 updates IIS was enabled on my machine. I wonder if the upgrade detected I had Apache running and decided to enabled IIS based on that.
Anyhow, I removed it and so far it has not caused any problems.
Back to top
Qmpeltaty



Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 182
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue 26 Sep '17 10:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you didnt install Apache it could not install from the sky - someone had to do this. I belive it's not Apache in your case but some malware.
Back to top
abrogard



Joined: 06 Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Location: australia, Adelaide

PostPosted: Tue 26 Sep '17 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i think it was part of contacam. that's what i tracked it down to be and uninstalling contacam made the lingering two instances in task manager go away.

now I'll put it back when i get around to it. because i still have the iis problem - or port forwarding problem - or whatever it is... shonky win10 installation i'm thinking now..
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Apache
Page 1 of 1