Forum Index Search Forum Register Log in

Runs on XP to Win 10

Current

Download 7.0

Download 7.1 Beta5 upgrade



A donation makes a contribution towards the time and effort that's going in to running this site.

Steffen

Contact:
My mail address is
at the top of the paypal form :

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well.


Update your links !! November 2016 the forum is at www.apachelounge.com/sambar

In the forum there are links to sambarserver.info,
replace "sambarserver.info" with "apachelounge.com/sambar"
awstats setup
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sambar Forum Index -> Coding & Script Corner
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul '04 7:30    Post subject: awstats setup Reply with quote

Awstats v6.2 more info http://www.sambarserver.info/for/viewtopic.php?p=7160#7160 and http://awstats.sourceforge.net

hi steffen,
i have awstats running as well newest version but
have problem using the following scripts for awstats:

awstats_updateall.pl
awstats_buildstaticpages.pl

have many vhost with seperate logs, did you create a index page and used hyperlinks to access differrent logs unless there is a better way of doing this also f.y.i: use full path to folders if you have issues with icons,script etc thanks inadvance

ps. are you using all available plugins email me if you want to see my stats, holziusa@hotmail.com
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul '04 10:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

steffen never mind, i got it to work.
if you use plugins other than listed on awstat site i be interested if you want to share

"http://www.myserver.mydomain/cgi-bin/awstats.pl?config=myvirtualhostname" secure via .htaccess file

notes:cgi-bin in vhost must be full path, myvirtualhostname means "site.server.com" not "awstats.site.server.com.conf"
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul '04 11:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually steffen i still have a issue with the awstat scripts if you can help there i would appreciate it .

a note worth mention: check for illegal characters on sambar
especially "?" with this setup
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul '04 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

followu: this solved my cron\scheduling issue
"http://sourceforge.net/forum/message.php?msg_id=1701545"
Back to top
View user's profile
Brian



Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 67
Location: Graham, WA USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul '04 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awstats for me has in less then 24 hours shown me some abuses of my bandwidth by hot linkers. It has also shown me some ways to improve the bandwidth I have available for better service to my 200 clients.

I have a DSL 512/512 connection and now I can really see how that bandwidth is being used.

I realize other stats progs can likely do much or maybe all of what awstats does but awstats does such a terrific job of breaking things down making the info easy to read and understand from right from day one.

I don't use awstats with Sambar at this time but instead with Apache but what a great tool to add to Sambar as well, especially with the newer features Tod is adding such as bandwidth controls and so on.

Thanks Steffen Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul '04 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi brian, what plugins are you using for your awstats and can i see your stat page? if youu want to see my page email direct to holziusa@hotmail.com

ps: plugins are listed on the bottom of your stat page
Back to top
View user's profile
Steffen



Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 414
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '04 12:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

I puzzled a lot to get it running, looks that under Windows it does not find the awstats.pl:

change the line in awstats_updateall.pl :
my $command="\"$AwstatsDir/$AwstatsProg\" -update -config=$domain";

to:
my $command="c:\/perl\/bin\/perl\.exe $AwstatsDir/$AwstatsProg -update -config=$domain";

Then call it eg in a DOS box with:

......>c:/perl/bin/perl.exe f:/web/stat/awstats_updateall.pl now -awstatsprog=f:/web/stat/awstats.pl -configdir=f:/web/stat

(I have awstats_updateall.pl, awstats.pl and conf's are in f:/web/stat and perl in c:/perl , change it to your location)

Steffen
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '04 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi steffen, i gave up trying to use "awstats_updateall.pl" command just can not get it to work however this works well for me "vhost.server.com = x:\yourserver\perl\bin\perl5.8.4.exe x:\yourserver\docs\vhost.server.com\cgi-bin\awstats.pl -config=vhost.server.com -update" i create one of these for each virtual host and place it into config[startup] and [shutdown] which will then update the file in increments based onn new changes, i also have manual update enabled on my stat page. hope this helps someone else

btw: what plugins are you using??
Back to top
View user's profile
Steffen



Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 414
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '04 13:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whit the change explained above in awstats_updateall.pl, I have in my shedule.ini:

[cron]
5 * * * * c:/perl/bin/perl.exe f:/web/stat/awstats_updateall.pl now -awstatsprog=f:/web/stat/awstats.pl -configdir=f:/web/stat &


This upadtes all stats every hour

Note:
my perl is in c:/perl
my updated awstats_updateall.pl, awstats.pl and the conf's are in f:/web/stat


btw. I am not using any plug-in
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '04 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi steffen,
"5 * * * * c:/perl/bin/perl.exe f:/web/stat/awstats_updateall.pl now -awstatsprog=f:/web/stat/awstats.pl -configdir=f:/web/stat &"

i think the this will update every five minutes "5****" correct me if i am wrong.

anyway got "awstats_updateall.pl now" to work now beats manually entering vhosts and works like a charm, however i am not keeping perl
in c:wint butin sambar folder easier to back up if self contained.
this is what works for me :
x:\yourserver\perl\bin\perl5.8.4.exe x:/yourserver/docs/vhost.yourserver.com/tools/awstats_updateall.pl now -awstatsprog=x:/docs/vhost.yourserver.com/cgi-bin/awstats.pl
-configdir=x:/docs/vhost.yourserver.com/cgi-bin

hopes this helps someone else
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '04 23:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

update to :

"anyway got "awstats_updateall.pl now" to work now beats manually entering vhosts and works like a charm, however i am not keeping perl
in c:wint butin sambar folder easier to back up if self contained.
this is what works for me :
x:\yourserver\perl\bin\perl5.8.4.exe x:/yourserver/docs/vhost.yourserver.com/tools/awstats_updateall.pl now -awstatsprog=x:/docs/vhost.yourserver.com/cgi-bin/awstats.pl
-configdir=x:/docs/vhost.yourserver.com/cgi-bin"

please disregard above script does not write output to "dirdata" for some reason.
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul '04 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi steffen, Q: are you in anyway altering your "awstats_updateall.pl" file
i can get it to run through all vhosts but it will notwrite the output to file.
however when i idividuallly update each vhost via "cron" it does write to the correct file.
i am suspecting there is something i have to tell "awstats_updateall.pl" where to write the output, any thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul '04 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

Q: whats the optimal log format to use

currently working: sambar performance + awstat #4
"but still have a hickup with identifying browsers"

anybody testing other setups?
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul '04 5:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

followup to : "Q: whats the optimal log format to use"

sambar NCSA combined log format + awstats #1 tends to provide more information on traffic.
Back to top
View user's profile
holziusa



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 221
Location: thanks4yourfeedback, donate to this site!!

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb '06 6:52    Post subject: log format & statistics Reply with quote

I recently moved on to "Sawmill.Net" but turned issues on how to
maximize log formats with sambar.

I have tis line in my config:
"Log Format = performance
Custom Log Format = %a %A %b %B %c %D %f %h %H %I %l %m %M %N %p %P %1 %2 %3 %q %r %s %t %T %u %U %v %V %Y"

but really no clue as am I really maximizing log output from sambar.

the custom log help file were some what wage in what should be
settings to catch all possible data in the log format.

maybe someone can cite exsample or elaborate on this subject a bit.

for no money down i still prefer awstats but am i really getting max log
data throuput.
Back to top
View user's profile

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sambar Forum Index -> Coding & Script Corner Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2