logoon  windows
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Forum Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored by anyone.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing the building of the binaries.




WinCache, increase the speed of PHP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> How-to's & Documentation & Tips



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2137
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Thu 04 Aug '11 21:14    Post subject: WinCache, increase the speed of PHP Reply with quote

Running now for some time Wincache here at Apache Lounge, and that is going very fine.

Wincach runs with PHP 5.2 and 5.3 and only with the NTS version and Fast CGI (mod_fcgid).

There is active (Microsoft) development.

Features:

•PHP 5.2 and PHP 5.3 support
•Configurable file cache
•Configurable PHP opcode cache
•User Cache API's
•File change notification support
•WinCache handler for PHP sessions
•Relative file path cache
•PHP functions to obtain information about the cache status

Download the development version I am running 1.2.614 dev at

http://sourceforge.net/projects/wincache/files/development/

More info on Wincache at

http://www.nexdot.net/blog/2010/02/09/wincache-apache-and-a-pretty-graph/

http://www.iis.net/download/wincacheforphp (Microsoft site)

http://php.net/wincache

Steffen
Back to top
Smitty



Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug '11 3:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

We run a large Moodle site and just switched to FastCGI with Wincache. It is working great so far.
Back to top
Smitty



Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Fri 05 Aug '11 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are either of you using the Wincache rerouting?

http://php.net/manual/en/wincache.reroutes.php

It says:

To configure WinCache to use the functions reroutes use the file reroute.ini that is included in WinCache installation package. Copy this file into the same directory where php.ini file is located. After that add the wincache.rerouteini setting in php.ini and specify an absolute or relative path to the reroute.ini file.

I downloaded the 1.2 dev version and I don't see reroute.ini anywhere.
Back to top
Smitty



Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sat 06 Aug '11 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

From reading the 1.2 documentation, I think this is all it takes to get the re-routing to work:

1) Create reroute.ini, include the following:

Code:
[FunctionRerouteList]
file_exists=wincache_file_exists
file_get_contents:2=wincache_file_get_contents
readfile:2=wincache_readfile
is_readable=wincache_is_readable
is_writable=wincache_is_writable
is_writeable=wincache_is_writable
is_file=wincache_is_file
is_dir=wincache_is_dir
realpath=wincache_realpath


2) Now, in php.ini, go to your Wincache section and put:

Code:
wincache.rerouteini = c:\php\reroute.ini


Of course, replace that path with your actual PHP path.

That is it, restart Apache. I've done this on my dev box and get no errors.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2137
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep '12 8:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

New WinCache 1.3.4 for PHP 5.4 Release Build.

As part of our continuing work on the the Windows Cache Extension (WinCache), the IIS team has released updated version of WinCache in order to address the compatibility issues that were discovered after PHP 5.4 was released.

More at... http://forums.iis.net/thread/2031083.aspx


Steffen
Back to top
UnLucky



Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec '12 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any experience with WinCache session handler? Does it handle many active sessions (500+) without problems?

I've just installed WinCache, haven't heard before of it.

Thanks to Kanashii (from http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=4303)

Edit: enabled WinCache sessions. So far so good.

Stephen, can you put WinCache somwhere in download section? At least a link to the project.
I've read that WinCache is actually faster than APC.. so it does deserve more atention
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> How-to's & Documentation & Tips
Page 1 of 1