logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



Apache Behind Router

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Make Me Egg



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep '06 8:15    Post subject: Apache Behind Router Reply with quote

Hello,

Setup:

Fedora Core 5
2 Windows XP (Wired)
1 Laptop (Wireless)

Linksys WRT54G

I have just installed Fedora and started the httpd service. I can access the APache test page on the Fedora computer by http://linux, http://127.0.0.1, http://192.168.1.102. I am unable to view the test page on the Fedora computer by http://MYIP, http://MYDOMAIN. I am unable to view the test page from any other one of my computers or computers off my LAN. I have opened up port 80 under the port forwarding section on my router. I have DHCP disabled in my router conifguration and I have assigned static IP's to all of my computers all of which can access the internet. I have tryed putting my Apache IP (192.168.1.102) in the DMZ section of my router with no luck. I have the most recent firmware version for my router. Does anyone have any ideas what is going on here?

Thanks
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep '06 10:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enabled the networkcard not only "lo"? Configured in firefall that the networkcard is safe?
Can you ping the the fedora PC from another PC in the LAN?

If you don't use the router and use a switch/hub can you than conncect?
Back to top
Make Me Egg



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep '06 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
Enabled the networkcard not only "lo"?


I am not sure what you mean by this

James Blond wrote:
Configured in firefall that the networkcard is safe?


If you mean setting up NIC MAC address filters in the router configuration than yes, I have all lf my NIC MAC's listed.

James Blond wrote:
Can you ping the the fedora PC from another PC in the LAN?


Yes I can ping my Fedora Box from a different computer on the network and I can access test page when I bypass my WRT54G and hook that box directly to my cable modem.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep '06 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make Me Egg wrote:
Enabled the networkcard not only "lo"?

I am not sure what you mean by this

That means you can enable lo and eth0
Quote:

Yes I can ping my Fedora Box from a different computer on the network and I can access test page when I bypass my WRT54G and hook that box directly to my cable modem.

WRT54G is the router?!?!
So if you bypass the router and can access the Fedora PC means that you misconfigured the router.
Back to top
Make Me Egg



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep '06 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah that is what I figured but I can't figure it out...........I have setup apache with same setup before using a BRxxx Linksys router with no problems. I have forwarded port 80 to my Fedora box and it just doesn't want to work.........This is killing me .............lol
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Hardware & Networking
Page 1 of 1