logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: cronolog issue with httpd 2.2
Author
sas



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul '06 15:02    Post subject: cronolog issue with httpd 2.2 Reply with quote

Does anyone else use cronolog? I can't find a single hit on this forum. I've used it for years on Linux as well as Windows Apache servers without problems, until now. It worked fine on Apache httpd 2.0.47 and 2.0.55 on Windows XP, and on Linux Apache 2.0.52. It also works fine on Apache 2.2 running on Linux. The problem arises with 2.2 on Windows.

When cronolog works correctly, I see 4 cronolog processes, apparantly 2 for each log (error and access). But after firing up 2.2, I see up to 8 processes going. And they are left running when Apache is shutdown.

At least some messages are written to the logs. So this may not seem like that big a problem. But it doesn't look right, and when a few restarts are needed, the cronolog processes really get out of hand.

Any insights are appreciated.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul '06 15:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cronlog under Windows? Do you use cygwin or something like that?

Code:

To use cronolog with XAMPP, you have to change the ErrorLog and CustomLog entries
in httpd.conf and ssl.conf.
Here are some sample entries I used in my configuration where every day a new log
directory is created.

httpd.conf:
----------

ErrorLog "|bin/cronolog.exe logs/%Y%m%d/error.log"
CustomLog "|bin/cronolog.exe logs/%Y%m%d/access.log" common


ssl.conf:
--------

CustomLog "|bin/cronolog.exe logs/%Y%m%d/ssl_access.log" \
          "%t %h %{SSL_PROTOCOL}x %{SSL_CIPHER}x \"%r\" %b"


Found from http://addons.xampp.org/cgi-bin/search.pl?pid=19 in the downloadpackage for Apache 2
How did you configured that?
Back to top
sas



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul '06 16:45    Post subject: cronolog on Windows Reply with quote

cronolog has been ported to windows. It's not hard to find at www.cronolog.com.

My config is:

Code:
ErrorLog "|D:/httpd/bin/cronolog.exe D:/httpd/logs/error%Y-%m.log"
CustomLog "|D:/httpd/bin/cronolog.exe D:/httpd/logs/access%Y-%m.log" combined


I suspect that it may need to be recompiled against 2.2 code.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul '06 17:00    Post subject: Re: cronolog on Windows Reply with quote

sas wrote:
cronolog has been ported to windows. It's not hard to find at www.cronolog.com.

The page is not found.

the org site run.

After some recherche, I found out that also rotatelogs.exe create 44 instances.

You may use mod_rotate_log www.apachelounge.com/download/
Back to top
sas



Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul '06 20:38    Post subject: reply Reply with quote

Oops, sorry about that. It is http://cronolog.org/ as I suppose you found. There's not been anything new on it for some years now, although I don't suppose much needs to be done.

If rortatelogs has the same problem, I guess Apache 2.2 for win32 has a bug in log piping. I will see if there's a place to report it.

mod_rotate_log sounds pretty good, but it doesn't have the functionality I want.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3057
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul '06 20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think Apache 2.2 has no bug regarding this. For 2.2.2 you have to build cronolog against Apache 2.2.2, not sure it is 2.2 compatible.

From the Apache site:
Modules written for Apache 2.0 will need to be recompiled in order to run with Apache 2.2

On *.nix you build "auto" against the apache you have installed.


Steffen
Back to top
archivero



Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 30 Aug '06 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to compile cronolog natively on win32 without cygwin. It worked as expected on apache 2.0.55. I've updated my istallation to 2.2 using the binary on this site and it works again as expected with two minor problems:

- a cmd.exe window is opened for every 2 cronolog processes
- when I stop the httpd.exe cronolog's are still executing...

Has anyone had similar problems?
Back to top
cyclone



Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 16
Location: St Louis

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep '06 14:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

archivero wrote:
I managed to compile cronolog natively on win32 without cygwin. It worked as expected on apache 2.0.55. I've updated my istallation to 2.2 using the binary on this site and it works again as expected with two minor problems:

- a cmd.exe window is opened for every 2 cronolog processes
- when I stop the httpd.exe cronolog's are still executing...

Has anyone had similar problems?


Exactly the same problem. I have no solution yet. I am using cronolog 1.6.1 and Apache 2.2.3

You can exacerbate the problem if you want to study it by setting MaxRequestsPerChild to some low number. Apache will then hang a couple cronolog's each time it restarts.
Back to top
toadie



Joined: 28 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 30 Oct '06 4:02    Post subject: Re: cronolog on Windows Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
sas wrote:
cronolog has been ported to windows. It's not hard to find at www.cronolog.com.

The page is not found.
You may use mod_rotate_log www.apachelounge.com/download/


Do you know if mod_rotate_log work with RewriteLog? It looks like RewriteLog no longer works in PIPE Mode in 2.2.3 (even with the standard rotatelogs.exe)?
Back to top
toadie



Joined: 28 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 30 Oct '06 7:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like there's a bug in server/log.c in function piped_log_spawn


((status = apr_procattr_cmdtype_set(procattr,
APR_SHELLCMD_ENV)) != APR_SUCCESS) ||

should read


((status = apr_procattr_cmdtype_set(procattr,
APR_PROGRAM_ENV)) != APR_SUCCESS)

After this patch, when you close the main program, the piped processes are also killed off.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 30 Oct '06 10:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it is a bug tell the developers!
http://cronolog.org/
http://httpd.apache.org/bug_report.html
Back to top
toadie



Joined: 28 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct '06 1:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello James,

It's not really a bug with cronolog (although the mailing list for cronolog has been dead for a long time but that's another issue altogether) because it also affects rotatelogs.

Apache's been bugged. The info posted here is just an FYI for people who needs the fix now (and are willing to patch & re-compile ) instead of waiting for the next release.

Toadie.
Back to top
chk



Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 18 Nov '06 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

toadie wrote:
Apache's been bugged. The info posted here is just an FYI for people who needs the fix now (and are willing to patch & re-compile ) instead of waiting for the next release.
Toadie.


I think in Apache 2.2.3 the error is still there. Where can I find the info, when a corrected Apache version will be available?

cu Christian
Back to top
Jorge



Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov '06 0:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

chk wrote:
toadie wrote:
Apache's been bugged. The info posted here is just an FYI for people who needs the fix now (and are willing to patch & re-compile ) instead of waiting for the next release.
Toadie.


I think in Apache 2.2.3 the error is still there. Where can I find the info, when a corrected Apache version will be available?

cu Christian


It depends, If you have submitted a bug report... check its status. if it sais Closed...

You can get a fixed build by downloading the source. Or wait for the next release. I have a feeling we might see 2.2.4 early december, don't take my word for it though.
Back to top
tdonovan
Moderator


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 611
Location: Milford, MA, USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov '06 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

Be careful if you apply the source code change to server/log.c per toadie above!

The change is:
Quote:
((status = apr_procattr_cmdtype_set(procattr,
APR_SHELLCMD_ENV)) != APR_SUCCESS) ||
to:
Quote:
((status = apr_procattr_cmdtype_set(procattr,
APR_PROGRAM_ENV)) != APR_SUCCESS) ||

You do not want to remove the boolean operator || at the end of the second line.

This is Apache bug 16761

-tom-
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: cronolog issue with httpd 2.2 View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules