logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 


About

Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge
 



Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Apache Lounge is not sponsored.

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries.



Apache 2.2 php4ts.dll crash

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Other Software



View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arch Stanton



Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan '06 14:20    Post subject: Apache 2.2 php4ts.dll crash Reply with quote

My server keeps crashing with the following error

Faulting application httpd.exe, version 2.2.0.0, faulting module php4ts.dll, version 4.4.2.2, fault address 0x000c5fca.

Anybody else have this problem? I think it might be because of what I mentioned here.
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan '06 15:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

What error do you get when you start Apache in a DOS box: >httpd.exe -e debug

Steffen
Back to top
Arch Stanton



Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan '06 5:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

It only crashes once and a while. The error I gave you was from the event viewer. You want me to run the server from a dos box like that and wait for the error?
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 2581
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan '06 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arch Stanton wrote:
You want me to run the server from a dos box like that and wait for the error?
Nope, I did not know that Apache was starting.

Looks like a php issue in combination with a php script you use. Maybe upgrading to php 5.1.2 helps.

Steffen
Back to top
Arch Stanton



Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb '06 4:23    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't, my software is not compatible with php 5.
Back to top
Arch Stanton



Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb '06 5:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried Apache 2.0 and 1.3 and it's still crashing, so the problem is not 2.2

Your php4apache2.dll will work with previous 4.4.x versions of php, right?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb '06 17:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are right php4apache2 is PHP 4.4.2 (Download on this page & this date)

You need php5apache2.dll
Back to top
danNL



Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar '06 14:13    Post subject: Any Resolution? Reply with quote

I get the same error, however I am using php 4.4.2 with Apache 2. I've narrowed down the problem to a file_get_contents call. I get no feedback except for a notice that Apache HTTP Server encountered a problem and needs to restart. Any ideas?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar '06 15:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post more PHP Code? I'm not sure about that.
in 4.4.1 PHP crashes while using next(), prev() und reset() in some arrays.
This bug has not been fixed. See http://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=35067

Using PHP 5 will fix that. Or if you can downgrade 4.4.0 even with the older security, it shouldn't crash.

But before I've seen your code I dono!
Back to top
danNL



Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar '06 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

The code calls a function which tries to retrieve an rss feed. The call is listed below:

$strRssContent=file_get_contents($strSourceUrl);
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 6255
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar '06 17:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use any cache or accrelaytor?
memorylimit in php.ini? Slow internet connection (Upstream)? Installed SP2? Before I installed SP2 under XP my upload stucked.

http://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=36473

Maybe there is an extention that don't work fine.
Comment out all extenions and try again.

If it work then, remove the comments seperately. Makes some woks, but may be help! Good luck! Very Happy
Back to top
danNL



Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar '06 17:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for keeping up with me ...

I put the command in its own php file to make sure that nothing else may be affecting it. Thus the command sits in its own file as such:

<?php
$strRssContent=file_get_contents('http://www.centralasianews.net/rss.php');
?>

This creates the same problem.

As far as I can tell there is no cache or accelerator. I am working in a devloper environment on my own machine. It's running WinXP Pro SP2. PHP 4.2.2 was installed without any special changes to the php.ini. I used the zipped Windows version. The php.ini memory_limit directive was set to 8M. I changed it to 8192 to see if that would make a difference, but it didn't.

I checked the phpInfo() command and noticed that the memory_limit directive does not show up. Further reading led me to the memory_get_usage() command which I tried and found that it only works when PHP is compiled with the --enable-memory-limit configuration option. Is there a way to set this directive to on when using a windows environment? Could this be the problem?
Back to top
danNL



Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar '06 9:27    Post subject: Temporary Solution - use php 4.3.11 Reply with quote

I downloaded 4.3.11 and the issue went away ...
Back to top


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Apache Forum Index -> Other Software
Page 1 of 1