logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Use Windows user for auth no AD
Author
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Sat 04 Nov '06 11:13    Post subject: Use Windows user for auth no AD Reply with quote

Is there a way to use the windows user for auth with no Active Directory (AD). With AD I could use LDAP, but on XP or simular is no AD.
Back to top
Jorge



Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 04 Nov '06 12:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC mod_auth_sspi should work without AD
http://www.gknw.net/development/apache/httpd-2.2/win32/modules/mod_auth_sspi-1.0.4-2.2.3-w32.zip
Back to top
Brian



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 209
Location: Puyallup, WA USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Nov '06 18:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you been succesful at using LDAP and AD for user authentiation before?

I have not been able to get that to work. I have been frustrated by that and as such I just decided not to use 2K3 until I have more time to work with it.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun 05 Nov '06 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't installed AD. That's why I asked to have auth without LDAP Wink
I will test that modul. I'm missing a link to the docs. That would be very helpfull.
Back to top
Jorge



Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 05 Nov '06 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

I i found was:
Code:
# Add to your httpd.conf

<IfModule !mod_auth_sspi.c>
    LoadModule sspi_auth_module modules/mod_auth_sspi.so
</IfModule>

#
# Configuration for mod_auth_sspi
<IfModule mod_auth_sspi.c>
    <Location /protected/>
        AuthName "A Protected Place"
        AuthType SSPI
        SSPIAuth On
        SSPIAuthoritative On
        SSPIOfferBasic On
        # SSPIBasicPreferred
        # SSPIUsernameCase lower
        require valid-user
    </Location>
</IfModule>


I guess require can also be "Windows User Name" not sure though
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov '06 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works fine on XP Pro SP 1 with local users.
Back to top
splantz



Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jan '07 11:57    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

this is the scenario I implemented successfully too.

The Apache is used as a reverse Proxy for an application server.

If there are two requests within a period of five seconds the second request only receives a digest of the authentication String.

The first Request gets the long auth String (type3) with username and Domain the sceond gets only a short one (type1) with the Domain in it.

For the types See:
http://www.innovation.ch/personal/ronald/ntlm.html

Is there a way to bring Apache to send the type3 every time?

Thanks for your Help ?
Back to top
Gayal Rupasinghe



Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Sri Lanka

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jan '07 16:23    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the following as it is.
Internet Explorer prompt me for a user login screen.
Failing to log in, i got the following in my error log.

[Wed Jan 10 19:46:50 2007] [error] [client 10.2.4.252] (OS 1326)Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password. : authentication failure for "/test": user unknown

Any kind of help is truly appreciated!


Jorge wrote:
I i found was:
Code:
# Add to your httpd.conf

<IfModule !mod_auth_sspi.c>
    LoadModule sspi_auth_module modules/mod_auth_sspi.so
</IfModule>

#
# Configuration for mod_auth_sspi
<IfModule mod_auth_sspi.c>
    <Location /protected/>
        AuthName "A Protected Place"
        AuthType SSPI
        SSPIAuth On
        SSPIAuthoritative On
        SSPIOfferBasic On
        # SSPIBasicPreferred
        # SSPIUsernameCase lower
        require valid-user
    </Location>
</IfModule>


I guess require can also be "Windows User Name" not sure though
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Use Windows user for auth no AD View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache