logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: APACHE Using Chrome SECURITY BREACH ??????
Author
dreuzel



Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 20 Mar '10 15:03    Post subject: APACHE Using Chrome SECURITY BREACH ?????? Reply with quote

Apache security problem
-------------------------
Apache 2.2.15

I hope I handle followin stuff badly, otherwize there is a big security hole in apache

First time after reopen, of a browser (Chrome) you get access to a secured area without offering the password.

Code:
Alias / secure/    "c:/www/secure(/)"
<Directory "F:/internet/secure(/)">
 #Options Indexes Includes FollowSymLinks
 #AuthType digest
  AuthType basic
  AuthName "db odbc "
  AuthBasicProvider dbd
  AuthDBDUserPWQuery "SELCT Password FROM Authenticate WHERE (user_name=%s)" 
  Allow from all
  Require valid-user
</Directory>


A) start stop apache (but is not important)
B) open a fresh chrome [!first time access and you are in !!!!!]


specify http://site/secure an in you go Noone even asks about security
ReRead the page : a login screen shows UP .... all security realised



Do the same thing with the explorer: >>> Password is asked Normaly from the first page



And with
Code:
Alias / secure/    "c:/www/secure(/)"
<Directory "F:/internet/secure(/)">
 #Options Indexes Includes FollowSymLinks
 #AuthType digest
  AuthType basic
  AuthName "db odbc "
  AuthBasicProvider dbd
  AuthDBDUserPWQuery "SELCT Password FROM Authenticate WHERE (user_name=%s)" 
  Require valid-user
</Directory>

A) start stop apache (but is not important)
B) open a fresh chrome [!first time access and you are in !!!!!]

Do the same thing with Explorer HTTP 405 Forbidden




Am I right ????? This cannot be !!!!!!????
The client allows access to Secured PAGES ????!!!!!!!
Pages that are blocked by MS EXPLORER !!!!!!!!!!!


THe security is APACHE's responsability NOT the client !!!!
Back to top
tdonovan
Moderator


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 614
Location: Milford, MA, USA

PostPosted: Sun 21 Mar '10 20:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you clear your browser cache in Chrome before trying?

Once Chrome reads the file successfully into its cache, it doesn't check again with Apache to see if it can re-display the same file from its cache.

-tom-
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar '10 7:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

My thought was that maybe it is storing session data, like Firefox will if you ask it too or it crashes.

Tom's insight explains why Chrome is so fast and if in fact the case, then in this instance it is out a Apache's hands and a big boo-boo on Chrome's side.
Back to top
tdonovan
Moderator


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 614
Location: Milford, MA, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar '10 12:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

re: "a big boo-boo on Chrome's side"

It's confusing to someone changing the protections on a new webserver, but I think reasoning behind Chrome's behavior actually makes some sense.

Once the browser has displayed a web page and stored it in the browser's cache - checking again later with the webserver to see if the page has subsequently become protected isn't really helpful.

Since the page has already been retrieved and displayed at least once, asking for a username & password at this point wouldn't protect anything.

Just mt 2-cents-worth of opinion...

-tom-
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar '10 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Tom,

Valid 2 cents.

I thought they had to log in once to begin with since dreuzel had said "reopen" and "ReRead." That would put it under 'protected' to begin with, or at least it is how I saw it.

In that case, a protected page should stay protected IMO, basically for the same reason passwords can be required after coming out of screen saver, in case you walk away from computer and someone else sits down at it, they cannot then walk back in.

Anyhow, am just explaining the thinking behind my boo-boo comment.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: APACHE Using Chrome SECURITY BREACH ?????? View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache