logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Help: FastCGI+Win2003+Apache - can't get fastcgi file info
Author
istarbuxs



Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug '09 7:13    Post subject: Help: FastCGI+Win2003+Apache - can't get fastcgi file info Reply with quote

Hi guys, I would like to know what error I'm having here. I have tried all the security thing on the said folder, and yet I still get this error.

I currently installed Xampp and then installed a non-thread safe PHP on another folder. as you can see below

C:\xampp\apache\bin>httpd.exe -t
Syntax error on line 539 of C:/xampp/apache/conf/httpd.conf:
can't get fastcgi file info: c:/PHP-NTS/php-cgi.exe(c:/PHP-NTS/php-cgi.exe), err
no: 720997

I also saw on the forum that the error 997 has something to do with the Group Policy thing. There's nothing saved inside the "control keymgr.dll" so there's nothing to delete.


Here's my settings

LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so
<IfModule mod_fcgid.c>

IPCCommTimeout 40
IPCConnectTimeout 10
MaxProcessCount 8
OutputBufferSize 64
ProcessLifeTime 240
MaxRequestsPerProcess 500
SetEnv PHPRC "C:/PHP-NTS"
DefaultInitEnv TEMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"
DefaultMinClassProcessCount 0

Alias /fcgi/ "c:/PHP-NTS/"
<Directory c:/PHP-NTS>
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks ExecCGI
FCGIWrapper "c:/PHP-NTS/php-cgi.exe" .php
AllowOverride all
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
Satisfy any
</Directory>

</IfModule>


Last edited by istarbuxs on Thu 06 Aug '09 7:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
istarbuxs



Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug '09 7:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows 2003 Service Pack 2
Running Apache 2.2.8

installed mod_fcgid 2.2a
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7318
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug '09 9:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same error as well (same OS). I switched to VS6 build and everything runs fine. No clue why but I didn't got the VS9 build to run.

For me runs VC6 x86 Thread Safe (2009-Jun-30 08:52:55) and VC6 x86 Non Thread Safe (2009-Jun-30 08:52:54) from http://windows.php.net/download/
Back to top
istarbuxs



Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 17 Aug '09 5:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way for the FastCGI module to stop querying the Active Directory?

I think this is the problem why it won't run on Windows machine having AD on them.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7318
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 17 Aug '09 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

Every file access from a process queries the AD (if installed) for the permissions. I had no problem on a machine with AD and fcgid. The problem is the compiler version not AD.
Back to top
istarbuxs



Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug '09 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

The thing is a group policy on the AD is overriding our permissions. That's why that error comes up.

What do you mean by a different compiler version?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7318
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 19 Aug '09 19:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

On windows.php.net there are PHP compiled with Visual Studio 6 (VS6) and compiled with Visual Studio 9 (VS9 aka VS 2008). And there are some non thread safe (NTS) version also compiled with VS6 and VS9. For only the VS6 thread safe versions works over fcgid.

OK normaly fcgid should run with NTS version as your tried to use
Quote:

c:/PHP-NTS/php-cgi.exe(c:/PHP-NTS/php-cgi.exe), err
no: 720997

Since PHP 5.3 the NTS version did not run for. Maybe for other it does.
Also in PHP 5.2.x I was only able to use the VS6 build thread safe and VS6 NTS version.

The NTS version of PHP is a bit faster than the thread safe version but it can't run as module on with cause often it crashes apache.

on the http://windows.php.net/download/ you see VC9 and VC6 that is VS9 and VS6.

I took VC6 x86 Thread Safe from PHP 5.3 to run.

if you still have a question please ask again.
Back to top
istarbuxs



Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep '09 5:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still doesn't work.

It works perfectly on a domain account but on a local account, it won't work.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7318
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep '09 9:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you run apache in the console or as service? What exactly fails on the local account? Starting?
Since you are using XAMPP, did you secure it?
Back to top
istarbuxs



Joined: 06 Aug 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep '09 8:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

We ran it as a service.

What fails? We can't start apache with the FCGI module.

We used procmon/regmon to monitor the activity, I think it has something to do with the SAM files.

By securing XAMPP, what do you mean?

Another thing is when i tried NginX on the same box using FCGID, it works fine.

So I'm not sure with Apache
Back to top
twosouth



Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb '10 21:35    Post subject: can't get fastcgi file info / errno. 720997 Reply with quote

Hi:

I'm getting this as well on a Win2K3 install. I'm not having any luck getting around it.

can't get fastcgi file info: d:/php5.2.12_vc6/php-cgi.exe(d:/php5.2.12_vc6/php-cgi.exe), errno: 720997

Code:
Apache 2.2.14
(from http://www.apachelounge.com/download/ )

PHP 5.2.12 VC6 thread safe
(from http://windows.php.net/downloads/releases/php-5.2.12-Win32-VC6-x86.zip)

FastCGI 2.2b
(from http://www.apachelounge.com/download/ )


From my httpd.conf file:
Code:
LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so
 
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
 
<Directory "d:/site_folder">
    FCGIWrapper "d:/php5.2.12_vc6/php-cgi.exe" .php
    {etc.}
</Directory>


Other considerations:

    - the TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service IS running
    - I'm not seeing any Event 1030 records in the Events Viewer
    - I have the Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package installed on the server (per instructions in both Apache and FastCGI packages)
    - Windows Server 2003 SP2
    - same thing happens no matter what version of PHP I try to use (VC9/VC6 ... TS/NTS ... 5.2.x/5.3.x)
    - same thing happens no matter what file I point to in the httpd.conf (php-cgi.exe, php.exe, php-win.exe)
    - Process Monitor tells me that the only thing touching that file is httpd.exe; there's no other process that's accessing that file as far as I know


Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer. I'm starting to plow through deadlines because of this.

tvg
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb '10 13:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

A parallel discussion appears on this thread also.
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb '10 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried downloading the various versions again of 5.2.10: php-5.2.10-nts-Win32-VC6-x86 and php-5.2.10-Win32-VC6-x86. Turns out I was using the thread-safe ones already... and this made no difference.

However thanks to @istarbuxs I've found that changing the service account from local to my windows domain credentials, it starts OK again. Since this is only a dev laptop, I am happy to leave it as it is.

Of course if someone could shed any more light on this - particularly on how to get it to run under the local account again - that would be most interesting.
Back to top
twosouth



Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb '10 20:50    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've toyed with Security permissions both on the actual service as well as on php-cgi.exe. Here's what I'm getting now:

Quote:
Syntax error on line 32 of D:/apache/conf/extra/httpd-fcgid.conf:
Wrapper d:/php/php-cgi.exe cannot be accessed: (70008)Partial results are valid but processing is incomplete


I'm using PHP v5.3.1 NTS VC9.
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 24 Feb '10 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, you might be part of the way there, consdering your error is now different. Have you tried that in combination with VC6 binaries?
Back to top
halfer



Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun '10 14:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately the solution I previously provided stopped working for me. I have now upgraded to 2.2.15, and this ran under the system account only until the next reboot, and something stopped it working. I have reset the account to use my named AD credentials, and it works again. (It may have been sufficient to reinstall the version of Apache I was previously using, but there's no harm in getting the latest and greatest.)

This is frustrating, as it means I can't use Apache unless I am on my corporate LAN - can do so at home but requires a dial-up to the internet and then to the LAN via VPN. We're now migrating to RHEL, and it's this sort of thing that provides the reason why (performance and TCO as well). I am stuck on Windows for my dev environment, but will switch to Ubuntu inside VirtualBox in due course!

</rant>
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jun '10 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

<rant-reply>
That is the pain with installers, they uninstall the service the install it again.
If you are using .msi installer, extract to a temp folder and just overwrite
/bin /modules with the new files extracted from the .msi. You have to only stop the service.

see Steffen's post here
http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=2060

The only downside is in the Services Dialog it will show the version when the service was installed in the description. But that's not a big deal, I run 2.2.15 but the services dialog says 2.2.9, but I never have to change the login for the service back to it's user.
Back to top
Brian White



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul '10 4:25    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use SC to change the description using the following syntax:

sc <server> description [service name] [description]

e.g.
sc description Apache2.2 "Apache/2.2.15 (Win32) mod_ssl..."

Also, (depending on its configuration) Apache updates the service description every time that it starts.
Back to top
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul '10 21:17    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes on using sc.exe ... comes in handy for a number of tasks.
As far as Apache updating it's description, that has never been my experience. Specific config that will allow this is?

Not that I really care what the service description says, I only care what server_signature/server_software environment variables say, they tell what is truly under the hood, provided they have not been change by mod_security or gutted down to simply Apache2.2 with server token directive.
Back to top
daibach



Joined: 24 Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug '11 10:45    Post subject: Reply with quote

@halfer

Sounds like you're hitting this bug:

https://issues.apache.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=51020

As that'll give the ominous 70008 partial results message.

You can either patch and recompile the module with a workaround given in that bug record. Or remove all non-local permissions (anything from AD, even AD users in local groups) from the php-cgi.exe. Only mess with the permissions on this file, don't worry about taking users out of groups or anything. Usually works perfectly if it just has SYSTEM and the local admin account (not the local admins group).
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Help: FastCGI+Win2003+Apache - can't get fastcgi file info View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Third-party Modules