logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Authentication for different sub-domain
Author
leonlihkust



Joined: 13 Jun 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 06 Oct '13 18:20    Post subject: Authentication for different sub-domain Reply with quote

I am implementing OpenERP service + Apache on Ubuntu server. The connection to the server need to be HTTPS.
Here is what I does:

a. For HTTP side, forward connection to HTTPS side.

Code:
<VirtualHost *:80>
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
        Redirect permanent / https://www.openerp.com



b. For HTTPS side, set proxypass and reversepass, also authentication.

Code:
 <IfModule mod_ssl.c>
<VirtualHost _default_:443>
  ProxyRequests Off
  SSLProxyEngine On
  RequestHeader set Front-End-Https "On"
  ProxyPass / http://202.181.211.123:8069/
  ProxyPassReverse / http://202.181.211.123:8069/
   
  <Location />
        AuthType basic
        AuthUserFile "/var/www/users/.htpasswd"
        require valid-user
   </location>


Now I want to separate sub-domains for each user, like subdomain1.openerp.com,subdomain2.openerp.com. How should I setup different password for each sub-domain?
I tried in HTTP side by set , but the "redirect" command owns higher priority than the others. What if in HTTPS side?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7294
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 09 Oct '13 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want mutiple subdomain you have to use several vhost or use several ServerAlias.

You might also check out

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/vhosts/mass.html

if you still have a question please ask again.
Back to top
leonlihkust



Joined: 13 Jun 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 10 Oct '13 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
if you want mutiple subdomain you have to use several vhost or use several ServerAlias.

You might also check out

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/vhosts/mass.html

if you still have a question please ask again.


Hi James, thanks for your reply.
I do have some questions.

1. For vhost case, based on following example. Does first vhost only works for ServerName customer-1.example.com and second one for ServerName customer-2.example.com respectively? Does the ServerName separate different vHost for different config or just a map between ServerName and DocumentRoot? I tried define different vHost with different ServerName for different authentication, but it seems the result is the same.
Code:
<VirtualHost 111.22.33.44>
    ServerName                 customer-1.example.com
    DocumentRoot        /www/hosts/customer-1.example.com/docs
    ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/  /www/hosts/customer-1.example.com/cgi-bin
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost 111.22.33.44>
    ServerName                 customer-2.example.com
    DocumentRoot        /www/hosts/customer-2.example.com/docs
    ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/  /www/hosts/customer-2.example.com/cgi-bin
</VirtualHost>


2. For above case, it is directory-based? I mean if the source of the website is not located in assigned directory path, like /var, it would not work?

3. Is possible to implement following config:

Code:
 <VirtualHost 111.22.33.44>
    ServerName                 customer-1.example.com
    Authentication 1
    Redirect 1
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost 111.22.33.44>
    ServerName                 customer-2.example.com
    Authentication 2
    Redirect 2
</VirtualHost>


Or this way:

Code:
 <VirtualHost 111.22.33.44>
    if subdomain = customer-1
    Authentication 1
    Redirect 1
     if subdomain = customer-2
    Authentication 2
    Redirect 2


Thanks a lot in advance for your help!
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Authentication for different sub-domain View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache