logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Any chance to have a 256 cipher for http2 ? Page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov '16 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bad boys in the apache config
Code:

DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA
ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA


The closed I came to a 256 bit with h2 result is:

Code:

Listen 443
<If "%{SERVER_PORT} == '443'">
    <IfModule mod_headers.c>
        Header always set Strict-Transport-Security "max-age=15553000; preload"
    </IfModule>
</If>

ProtocolsHonorOrder On
Protocols h2c h2 http/1.1

SSLUseStapling off
SSLSessionCache shmcb:/opt/apache2/logs/ssl_gcache_data(512000)
SSLOptions +StrictRequire +StdEnvVars -ExportCertData
SSLProtocol -all +TLSv1 +TLSv1.1 +TLSv1.2
SSLCompression Off
SSLHonorCipherOrder On
SSLCipherSuite ECDHE-ECDSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-RSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384:DHE-RSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA256


But then Android < 7 is out of the race. Also IE 10 and smaller is out. Also some "older" Firefox versions can't connect
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec '16 13:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

James Blond wrote:
But then Android < 7 is out of the race. Also IE 10 and smaller is out. Also some "older" Firefox versions can't connect

Do you have this running somewhere? I could try with Firefox 47 on Windows 7. See https://github.com/icing/mod_h2/issues/121#issuecomment-263092561
The SSLlabs test is not always informative enough.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec '16 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yepp

https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze.html?d=mr-burns.apachehaus.de

https://mr-burns.apachehaus.de

works in progess. If not available it may take 30 second if I update the server config for other tests.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec '16 14:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder why the POLY ciphers have been renamed...

I changed the config and it look better know

Code:
SSLCipherSuite ECDHE-ECDSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305-OLD:ECDHE-RSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305-OLD:DHE-RSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305-OLD:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA256:AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDH-ECDSA-AES256-SHA384:ADH-AES256-GCM-SHA384
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec '16 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox 47.0 on Win7:
Quote:
Your connection is not secure

The owner of mr-burns.apachehaus.de has configured their website improperly. To protect your information from being stolen, Firefox has not connected to this website.

Edit: FF 47.0 still works OK on https://fips.sessiondatabase.net/
using ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA = TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_256_CBC_SHA
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec '16 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't use that cipher with HTTP/2. It is a blacklisted suite.
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec '16 16:02    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know, but Firefox 47.0 is smart enough to connect over http/1.1.

https://fips.sessiondatabase.net/Windows_7_x64_01_12_2016_14_57_10.png
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1248
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec '16 0:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

And Chrome 49 on XP/SP3 also connects over http/1.1 using ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA. As a comparison, on https://ie8xp.sessiondatabase.net it uses http/2.0 with the 128-bits ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Any chance to have a 256 cipher for http2 ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache Page Previous  1, 2, 3