logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge  


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.



Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Latest Windows 10 build cannot run latest Apache build
Author
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 9:13    Post subject: Latest Windows 10 build cannot run latest Apache build Reply with quote

Windows 10 Professional build 10.0.19041.572 does not allow Apache Lounge build of Apache 2.4.46 to run.

The exact error message Windows displays is: "This app cannot run on your PC. To find a version for your PC, check with the software publisher."

I have verified that I have the 64-bit build of Apache for my 64-bit PC and that I am running version 14.27.29112.0 of Microsoft Visual C++ 2015-2019 Redistributable.

Has this apache build been tested under this build of Windows? What is the remedy?
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1073
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 14:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try updating to the 14.28.29325 redistributable: https://aka.ms/vs/16/release/VC_redist.x64.exe

Also, it does not harm to install the X86 distributable as well: https://aka.ms/vs/16/release/VC_redist.x86.exe

I am running my own build of Apache 64 bits on a even newer Windows 10 version: Version 20H2, 19042.630. I did not test the Apachelounge version, but that should probabbly run as well.
Back to top
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updating to 14.28.29325 redistributable did not fix the problem. Windows gives same error as before.
Back to top
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updating to Windows 10 (Professional) build 10.0.19042.630 did not fix the problem either. Windows gives same error as before.

At this point, it looks like that Apache Lounge latest apache build was not properly tested with latest version of Windows, or installation instructions are lacking critical information.
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1073
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 22:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

If that really was the case there would have been lots and lots of complaints. The version that is on the downloads page is almost 1.5 months old.
Back to top
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 23:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe there are not enough Windows users who are on the later builds. Ideally, whether a build is tested against a particular build of Windows or not is the kind of information that should be in release notes. This level of details which may be critical with Microsoft continuous rollout of Windows 10 is missing from release notes.

Perhaps you can try installing the Apache Lounge build (instead of your custom build) and see if you run into this:

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19042.630]
(c) 2020 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Apache24>cd bin

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd.exe -f c:\apache24\bin\httpd.conf
Access is denied.

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd --version
Access is denied.

There are no log entries in event log.
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1073
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Sun 15 Nov '20 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

Runs fine. I had to Ctrl-C to stop it from running after the first serverName error.
Quote:
Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19042.630]
(c) 2020 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

D:\>c:

C:\>cd C:\Apache24\bin

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd.exe -f c:\apache24\bin\httpd.conf
httpd.exe: Could not open configuration file C:/Apache24/bin/httpd.conf: The system cannot find the file specified.

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd.exe -f c:\apache24\conf\httpd.conf
AH00558: httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using fe80::6d13:84b7:e934:dfe0. Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd.exe -f c:\apache24\conf\httpd.conf -t
AH00558: httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using fe80::6d13:84b7:e934:dfe0. Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message
Syntax OK

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd.exe -f c:\apache24\conf\httpd.conf -v
Server version: Apache/2.4.46 (Win64)
Apache Lounge VS16 Server built: Oct 2 2020 11:45:39

Access denied in your case seems to indicate a permissions problem.
Back to top
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov '20 0:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for verifying this. It cannot be permissions, I am running it as Administrator.
Back to top
Jan-E



Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 1073
Location: Amsterdam, NL, EU

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov '20 0:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently you have an adjusted httpd.conf at a non-standard location. Try the default one as supplied in the ApacheLounge download.
Back to top
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov '20 1:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was a typo, mine is in standard location:

C:\Apache24\bin>httpd.exe -f c:\apache24\conf\httpd.conf
Access is denied.

httpd.exe is giving up even before reading httpd.conf
Back to top
al2



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov '20 3:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

The cause of the problem was that httpd.exe was 0 bytes! I have no idea or explanation how that happened but I distinctly remember that back in 1994, if an executable was corrupted or was 0 bytes, Windows 3.1 would have given the following error when user tried to run it:

Your {filename} executable is corrupted.

One century later, Microsoft has improved the error message so it says:

This app cannot run on your PC. To find a version for your PC, check with the software publisher.

You be the judge of which error message was more helpful!
Back to top
puertoblack2003



Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov '20 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

i had that same issue when i switched over from 7 to 10 . The solution was right click the the zip to properties and check off unblock see image
https://ibb.co/MSFxjp4
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Latest Windows 10 build cannot run latest Apache build View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache