logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Can't get apache to run
Author
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul '23 20:20    Post subject: Can't get apache to run Reply with quote

Hi,
I installed Apache and got it to install. I can't get it to run. I went to services in Windows 11 and clicked o Apache24 then clicked start. Nothing. I am looking for some help with this.
Thanks in advance
Mark
Back to top
Cye



Joined: 06 Jul 2023
Posts: 1
Location: USA,Ohio

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '23 4:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello mathman, a couple things you can check.

1.Have you installed the newest C++ Redistributable?
2.Is there any data written to the apache log file?
3.Is there any error related to the service in the windows Event Viewer?
Back to top
Steffen
Moderator


Joined: 15 Oct 2005
Posts: 3066
Location: Hilversum, NL, EU

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '23 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=2394
Back to top
axel.kam



Joined: 11 Jul 2023
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul '23 22:21    Post subject: Re: Can't get apache to run Reply with quote

Before install and run apache as service you must check:
1. run cmd.exe
2. from console run httpd.exe directly from it installation path folder -> bin without any keys, sample "C:\Apache24\bin\httpd.exe"

If any startup error is occur, it been writen in the console window. Other way you seen clean black window, it mean that all good and apache started correctly.
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jul '23 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steffen wrote:
Have a look at https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=2394

I have a number of redistributable files on my computer from 2003 to 2015. My log files are empty except the install.log.
When I click start in the services I am told to go to the event viewer.
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jul '23 15:04    Post subject: Re: Can't get apache to run Reply with quote

axel.kam wrote:
Before install and run apache as service you must check:
1. run cmd.exe
2. from console run httpd.exe directly from it installation path folder -> bin without any keys, sample "C:\Apache24\bin\httpd.exe"

If any startup error is occur, it been writen in the console window. Other way you seen clean black window, it mean that all good and apache started correctly.


All you have done is what I have already done.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7329
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jul '23 16:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

in cmd run

Code:
C:\Apache24\bin\httpd.exe -S


if that works run
Code:
C:\Apache24\bin\httpd.exe -k install
Back to top
axel.kam



Joined: 11 Jul 2023
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jul '23 23:42    Post subject: Re: Can't get apache to run Reply with quote

mathman wrote:
Hi,
I installed Apache and got it to install. I can't get it to run. I went to services in Windows 11 and clicked o Apache24 then clicked start. Nothing. I am looking for some help with this.
Thanks in advance
Mark


Ok, try to advance together,

Right now I followed a few steps on my computer running Windows 11 Pro 22H2 (22621.1992):
1. Download and install VC_redist.x64.exe from here https://aka.ms/vs/17/release/VC_redist.x64.exe
2. Download httpd-2.4.57-win64-VS17.zip from here https://www.apachelounge.com/download/VS17/binaries/httpd-2.4.57-win64-VS17.zip and unpack it to "C:\Apache24". There is no any changes to the default configuration.
Download links posted on the https://www.apachelounge.com/download/

I tried running "C:\Apache24\bin\httpd.exe" from the console, it started succesfully with a non-critical error "AH00558: httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using fe80::a924:f85e:5cc8 :beb9.Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message"
I checked the work by typing http://127.0.0.1 in the browser and view the amazing "It works!"

Checked the installation of the service "C:\Apache24\bin\httpd.exe -k install". The service installed correctly, I successfully launch it from the Computer Management interface.

Result: Apache is compatible with the current version of Windows 11 and can be run right out of the box with no configuration changes required.

You must run the service installation procedure as an administrator:
Find the cmd.exe file on your computer, right-click on it -> run as administrator, install the service from the console window that starts up.

My suggestion is to install apache with the default configuration, and then change the configuration step by step and check that Apache starts correctly after each change. There is no easy way here.

I hope this post is helpful
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Wed 19 Jul '23 16:27    Post subject: already done the things posted Reply with quote

I did all of these things. That's why I am here. I am looking for things to do that I have not thought of doing.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7329
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jul '23 8:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay,
what is in the error.log file of apachwe about that? Anything in the windows event log?
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jul '23 16:41    Post subject: Re: already done the things posted Reply with quote

mathman wrote:
I did all of these things. That's why I am here. I am looking for things to do that I have not thought of doing.


I've done these things.
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jul '23 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here is the install.log for my apache install. I will also post my event viewer info as well.

Installing Apache HTTP Server 2.x with
DomainName = example.com
ServerName = www.example.com
ServerAdmin = admin@example.com
ServerPort = 80
ServerSslPort = 443
ServerRoot = c:/Apache24
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-autoindex.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-autoindex.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-default.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-default.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-ssl.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-multilang-errordoc.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-multilang-errordoc.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-info.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-info.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-userdir.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-userdir.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-mpm.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-mpm.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/httpd.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/httpd.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/proxy-html.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/proxy-html.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-dav.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-dav.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-languages.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-languages.conf
Rewrote docs/conf/extra/httpd-manual.conf.in
to c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-manual.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-autoindex.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-autoindex.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-default.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-default.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-ssl.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-multilang-errordoc.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-multilang-errordoc.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-info.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-info.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-userdir.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-userdir.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-mpm.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-mpm.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/httpd.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/httpd.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/magic
to c:/Apache24/conf/magic
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/charset.conv
to c:/Apache24/conf/charset.conv
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/proxy-html.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/proxy-html.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-dav.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-dav.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/mime.types
to c:/Apache24/conf/mime.types
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-languages.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-languages.conf
Duplicated c:/Apache24/conf/original/extra/httpd-manual.conf
to c:/Apache24/conf/extra/httpd-manual.conf



I cannot copy anything from the event viewer to this page.
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 17
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jul '23 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed the problem. It wah in the php iinstall
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Can't get apache to run View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache