logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X

Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Reply to topic   Topic: Security Scan: web.config File Information Disclosure
Author
MelB

PostPosted: Wed 13 Oct '21 13:28    Post subject: Security Scan: web.config File Information Disclosure Reply with quote

Hi there

Apache2 version: Apache/2.4.51
Ubuntu: 20.04
PHP: 7.4.24

I'm new to working with Apache and on the servers and am trying to secure a new Apache server. After IT ran a security scan with SecurityMetrics on one of our websites, we are getting a result of 5 with the following vulnerability bringing our score down:

web.config File Information Disclosure
Synopsis: The remote web server hosts an application that is affected by an information disclosure vulnerability.
Resolution: Ensure proper restrictions are in place, or remove the web.config file if the file is not required.
Data Received: SecurityMetrics was able to exploit the issue using the following request : GET /web.config
HTTP/1.1 Host: WEBSITE.co.uk Accept-Charset: iso-8859-1,utf-8;q=0.9,*;q=0.1
Accept-Language: en Connection: Keep-Alive User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0;
Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0) Pragma: no-cache Accept: image/gif, image/x-xbitmap, image/jpeg, image/pjpeg, image/png,
*/* This produced the following truncated output (limited
to 5 lines) : ------------------------------ snip ------------------------------
<!-- Rewrites requires Microsoft
URL Rewrite Module for IIS
Download: https://www.iis.net/downloads/microsoft/url-rewrite