logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Help installing
Author
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 11
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr '24 20:01    Post subject: Help installing Reply with quote

HI,
I have been trying to install apache on my computer. I am in the bin directory. I tried httpd.exe -k install, I also tried httpd -k install.
All I get are errors.
If you want the error info here it is:


Suggestion [3,General]: The command httpd was not found, but does exist in the current location. Windows PowerShell does not load commands from the current location by default. If you trust this command, instead type: ".\httpd". See "get-help about_Command_Precedence" for more details.


I also just checked http.conf for different drive. I am installing on the E:/.


PS E:\apache24\bin> httpd
httpd : The term 'httpd' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check
the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At line:1 char:1
+ httpd
+ ~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: (httpd:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : CommandNotFoundException

I am installing on the E:/ because I am in the process of reinstalling Win 10 and 11. E: drive is a secondary drive where I can keep most things still runng in case it happens again.
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 11
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr '24 20:51    Post subject: I got it to work Reply with quote

It is fixed.
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 11
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr '24 22:15    Post subject: not fixed Reply with quote

I am back to having a running version of apache. In the services area I cannot start apache. And yet is I type in localhost it works. So I need some help with this.
Thanks
Back to top
mathman



Joined: 25 Sep 2015
Posts: 11
Location: worester, usa

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr '24 23:53    Post subject: Is there anything wrong with this portion Reply with quote

HI,
I am putting here a portion of the httpd.conf there looks like I might have a problem with my httpd.conf php file.

I am getting an errror message on the line that says LoadModule line.
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html
LoadModule php8_module "E:\php8\php8apache2_4.dll"
PHPIniDir "E:\php8"
DirectoryIndex index.php Crying or Very sad
Back to top
DnvrSysEngr



Joined: 15 Apr 2012
Posts: 219
Location: Denver, CO USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 May '24 1:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mathman:

As many on this site will tell you, best to use Mod_FCGId instead of the PHP module/dll.

Here is an article that will get you started.

https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?p=42104

For more help, search this site for mod_fcgid.

Cheers!

--S
Back to top
Stray78



Joined: 15 Apr 2024
Posts: 14
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 May '24 2:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have used the PHP module since 2005 with no problems. It is right on line 21 of the config file...

I would try front slashes, like so.

LoadModule php8_module "E:/php8/php8apache2_4.dll"



"# NOTE: Where filenames are specified, you must use forward slashes
# instead of backslashes (e.g., "c:/apache" instead of "c:\apache").
# If a drive letter is omitted, the drive on which httpd.exe is located
# will be used by default. It is recommended that you always supply
# an explicit drive letter in absolute paths to avoid confusion."
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7309
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 13 May '24 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a tutorial mod with a complete setup https://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=2394
Back to top
Otomatic



Joined: 01 Sep 2011
Posts: 163
Location: Paris, France, EU

PostPosted: Tue 14 May '24 8:53    Post subject: Re: Is there anything wrong with this portion Reply with quote

mathman wrote:

LoadModule php8_module "E:\php8\php8apache2_4.dll"
PHPIniDir "E:\php8"

Hi,

With Wampserver, I put PHPIniDir before LoadModule:
Code:
PHPIniDir "${APACHE_DIR}/bin"
LoadModule php_module "${INSTALL_DIR}/bin/php/php8.3.7/php8apache2_4.dll"
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Help installing View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache