Keep Server Online
If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.
or
A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.
Thank You! Steffen
Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
| |
|
Topic: Can't get mod_log_rotate to work |
|
Author |
|
rushtone
Joined: 25 Jan 2008 Posts: 5 Location: Georgia, USA
|
Posted: Wed 12 Mar '08 22:51 Post subject: Can't get mod_log_rotate to work |
|
|
I've downloaded mod_log_rotate-1.00a-w32.zip, and followed the instructions in the ReadMe.txt for installation:
copy mod_log_rotate.so to my Apache's modules directory
I do run Apache 2.2.8 from ApacheLounge (but I've tried copying httpd.exe.manifest to bin anyway)
I've installed the Vis C++ 2005 runtime
LoadModule line (cut/paste from the ReadMe.txt) is there
Put the directives (per the ReadMe.txt) into httpd.conf
When I run httpd from the command line, it just silently exits a couple seconds after I start it. No error messages.
I've got all the mod_log_rotate specific things inside an
<IfModule log_config_module>
element, and when I put a typo inside that element httpd complains, so I know it's loading the module.
If I comment out all the Rotate* directives, leaving only the CustomLog line with an access log file name using strftime components and run httpd, it runs, but creates a log file called:
D:\somewhere\apache2.2\logs>dir access_*
Volume in drive D has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 7023-935C
Directory of D:\somewhere\apache2.2\logs
03/11/2008 08:33 AM 163 access_%Y%m%d-%H%M%s
1 File(s) 163 bytes
0 Dir(s) 15,276,609,536 bytes free
Which is not what I want.
Suggestions?
David |
|
Back to top |
|
James Blond Moderator

Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 7404 Location: EU, Germany, Next to Hamburg
|
Posted: Sat 15 Mar '08 21:48 Post subject: |
|
|
Please post your config part about the logs.
it should work like
Code: |
TransferLog "C:/Apache2/logs/%Y-%m-%d.access.log"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
rushtone
Joined: 25 Jan 2008 Posts: 5 Location: Georgia, USA
|
Posted: Wed 23 Apr '08 21:04 Post subject: |
|
|
I've got
Code: | LoadModule log_rotate_module modules/mod_log_rotate.so |
and then
Code: | <IfModule log_rotate_module>
# mod_log_rotate configuration
#CustomLog logs/access_%Y%m%d-%H%M%s combined
TransferLog logs/access_%Y%m%d-%H%M%s
#RotateLogs On
#RotateLogsLocalTime On
#RotateInterval 60
</IfModule>
|
I've tried it with the CustomLog as above, as well as TransferLog line, but in both cases I get an access file that's named exactly as it is in the config above, with percent signs and all, other than substituted values.
If I uncomment the "RotateLogs On" line, I get a Dr. Watson ("Apache HTTP Server has encountered a problem and needs to close").
David |
|
Back to top |
|
admin Site Admin

Joined: 15 Oct 2005 Posts: 702
|
Posted: Wed 23 Apr '08 21:36 Post subject: |
|
|
Strange.
First do not put httpd.exe.manifest in bin, C++ runtime does the job.
For tracking down your issue, please try first exactly the example from the docs:
Code: | LoadModule log_rotate_module modules/mod_log_rotate.so
RotateLogs On
RotateInterval 60
CustomLog logs/access_log.%Y%m%d-%H%M%S common |
So not within a <ifModule element. |
|
Back to top |
|
rushtone
Joined: 25 Jan 2008 Posts: 5 Location: Georgia, USA
|
Posted: Wed 23 Apr '08 22:04 Post subject: |
|
|
Hey, NOW it works. I commented out all the stuff I'd entered, and did just a cut/paste from the above.
Cool. Thanks. Just now wondering why it didn't work before....
David |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|