logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: PHP 5.3.5 with Apache 2.2.17: Apache won't start Page Previous  1, 2
Author
glsmith
Moderator


Joined: 16 Oct 2007
Posts: 2268
Location: Sun Diego, USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jan '11 23:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Ppremkash, it's beyond Apache, or even how to tell Apache to load it since we cannot even get it to work at the command line away from Apache.

@Linvo, ok, that got me thinking. I started lookin at a ini file on my laptop, which 5.3.5 supposedly works on. I made sure no extensions were loaded;

Code:
C:\php5>php -v
PHP 5.3.5 (cli) (built: Jan  6 2011 17:54:09)
Copyright (c) 1997-2010 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2010 Zend Technologies


As soon as I loaded the gd2 extension, I'd get a crash with;
Code:
Faulting application php.exe, version 5.3.5.0, faulting module php5ts.dll, version 5.3.5.0, fault address 0x000e890c.


Doing same on my Laptop, which is Vista, it does not crash but I get
Code:
C:\php53ts>php -v
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php\php_gd2.dll' -
 The specified module could not be found.
 in Unknown on line 0
PHP 5.3.5 (cli) (built: Jan  5 2011 20:29:28)
Copyright (c) 1997-2010 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.3.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2010 Zend Technologies


As I look at this, I'm seeing c:\php\php_gd2.dll, as you can see, that's not where it resides. There is php 5.2.17 there, so c:\php is hard coded into the thing.

Changing folder name on the XP box does not help matters any, it still crashes unless there are no extensions loaded.

Kind of makes this 5.3 useless in my book!
Back to top
VoodooMill



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan '11 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just happen to be 1 week into a new project using Apache 2.2.17 and PHP 5.3.5.

Try adding your PHP directory (so in your case H:\php) to the Path Windows System Environmental variables. May want to give Windows a restart for good measure after the addition.
Back to top
DmitryV



Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 29
Location: Russian Federation, Saint-Petersburg

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan '11 7:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

premkash wrote:
Hi,

I was facing the same problem. But then found that PHP installer was not adding the correct values to httpd.conf file. This is becuase there is a bug in php installer msi file.

The lines in httpd.conf should look like:

#BEGIN PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
PHPIniDir "C:/php/535/"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php/535/php5apache2_2.dll"
#END PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL

I have written more about it here:
http://webworksconsultant.com/backend/problem-in-installing-php-5-3-5-with-apache-2-2-17/


Correctly, do not use the installer and add lines to the http.conf manually:

Code:
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php/535/php5apache2_2.dll"
 
<IfModule php5_module>
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
PHPIniDir "C:/php/535"
</IfModule>
Back to top
Linvo



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan '11 11:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

glsmith wrote:
As I look at this, I'm seeing c:\php\php_gd2.dll, as you can see, that's not where it resides. There is php 5.2.17 there, so c:\php is hard coded into the thing.

Changing folder name on the XP box does not help matters any, it still crashes unless there are no extensions loaded.

Kind of makes this 5.3 useless in my book!


@glsmith: Not loading php_gd2.dll has no effect on the error in my situation. No changes, either command line or loading it as a module.

@VoodooMill: The php folder AND the php/ext folder are part of the PATH variable.

@Ppremkash: It's beyond Apache.

@DmitryV: Still have to check the V6 option.
Back to top
VoodooMill



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan '11 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

Given that php5apache2_2.dll is missing from the Not Thread Safe zip download perhaps there are files missing from the installer you're using as well.

I've been using the Thread Safe version of the zip and have been having no problems at all.

Give that a try. If it works you can at least proceed with your project.
Back to top
Sob



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jan '11 21:53    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linvo wrote:
Translated in english this means that the OS can't start PHP because it can't find "OCI.dll"


It's some Oracle dll used by following extensions: php_oci8.dll, php_oci8_11g.dll and php_pdo_oci.dll. If you don't need Oracle support, just disable these extensions in php.ini. If you do need Oracle support, then I can't help you, because I don't know anything about it, but it's probably located somewhere where Oracle is installed.

glsmith wrote:
As I look at this, I'm seeing c:\php\php_gd2.dll, as you can see, that's not where it resides. There is php 5.2.17 there, so c:\php is hard coded into the thing.

Did you try to set "extension_dir" in php.ini?

VoodooMill wrote:
Given that php5apache2_2.dll is missing from the Not Thread Safe ...

Apache modules need to be thread safe, so it's not really missing in NTS, it's not supposed to be there.
Back to top
VoodooMill



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan '11 2:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sob wrote:
VoodooMill wrote:
Given that php5apache2_2.dll is missing from the Not Thread Safe ...

Apache modules need to be thread safe, so it's not really missing in NTS, it's not supposed to be there.


It's included in the NTS zip for 5.2.17, though. I guess I'm not clear on the full story with PHP distributions.
Back to top
Sob



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan '11 5:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, maybe I'm wrong, it really is included in older NTS versions. That means, long in the past someone lied to me. Smile
Back to top
Linvo



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan '11 13:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem solved!

The error:
Code:
Vastgelopen toepassing: httpd.exe, versie: 2.2.17.0, vastgelopen module: php5ts.dll, versie: 5.3.5.0, vastgelopen op: 0x000f7140.

is gone! Very Happy

Why?
To be honest, I don't know.

What did I do?
I uninstalled the threadsafe PHP 5.3.5.-Win32-VC9-x86.msi and copied the content of the threadsafe PHP 5.3.5.-Win32-VC9-x86.zip to my PHP folder. Then I restarted Apache 5.2.17 and BINGO...all fine!

Does this mean the threadsafe PHP 5.3.5.-Win32-VC9-x86.msi is not okay?
I actually don't know. For some reason it didn't work for me.

Thanks for all the help and attention!
Back to top
enfran



Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jan '11 2:54    Post subject: Re: This is becuase of a bug in PHP installer Reply with quote

premkash wrote:
[...]
The lines in httpd.conf should look like:

#BEGIN PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
PHPIniDir "C:/php/535/"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php/535/php5apache2_2.dll"
#END PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
[...]


For me this wasn't enough. With:

Code:
LoadModule php5_module "C:/PROGRA~2/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
<IfModule php5_module>
PHPIniDir "C:/PROGRA~2/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
</IfModule>


in my httpd.conf (on a W7 64-bit platform) I still got the same error.

The solution in my case came from here (the post dated [2011-01-11 13:05 UTC]): I just edited my php.ini and commented the "extension=php_sybase_ct.dll" line.
And then everything was fine again!

PS: to install php I first extracted the php-5.3.5-Win32-VC6-x86.zip archive and then ran the php-5.3.5-Win32-VC6-x86.msi installer.
Back to top
robspain



Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan '11 3:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed my apache 2.2.17 + php 5.3.5 non start problems by removing OpenSSL, Curl & Postgres PHP extensions as per this link

http://www.websiteadministrator.com.au/articles/install_guides/installing_php535_pg5.html#php535_Choose_Items_to_Install
Back to top
Kobie



Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan '11 1:38    Post subject: Re: This is becuase of a bug in PHP installer Reply with quote

Same problem here as well. Solved thanks to premkash though.

premkash wrote:
Hi,

I was facing the same problem. But then found that PHP installer was not adding the correct values to httpd.conf file. This is becuase there is a bug in php installer msi file.

The lines in httpd.conf should look like:

#BEGIN PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
PHPIniDir "C:/php/535/"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/php/535/php5apache2_2.dll"
#END PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL

I have written more about it here:
http://webworksconsultant.com/backend/problem-in-installing-php-5-3-5-with-apache-2-2-17/


Thank you very much!
Back to top
steffanno



Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jan '11 4:02    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I stumbled onto this guide which saved me loads of time when upgrading the php-apache module install on my xp sp3 system.

Yes, i had to remove some default install items, add in the path data and then i found i should make sure php path in httpd.conf is in the same case as my windows php folder! Php now purrs.

(source: http://www.websiteadministrator.com.au/articles/install_guides/installing_php535_pg6.html )

(this is correct - full case sensitive path data)
#BEGIN PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
PHPIniDir "C:/PHP/"
LoadModule php5_module "C:/PHP/php5apache2_2.dll"
#END PHP INSTALLER EDITS - REMOVE ONLY ON UNINSTALL
Back to top
ahmad2121



Joined: 18 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr '11 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was getting this error with PHP 5.3.6. I had to uninstall the Oracle extensions (Oracle 10g & 11g & PDO Oracle 10g and above - oci8/oci8_11/pdo_oci).
Back to top
Owl



Joined: 12 Oct 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct '11 3:45    Post subject: Apache 2.2 fails starting as soon as you update httpd.conf Reply with quote

Apache 2.2 fails starting as soon as you update httpd.conf with anything related to PhP whether it's 5.2.x or 5.3.x

VC++ distrubable, VC6 vs VC9, OS, versions etc... all these has been extensively tested and it doesn't work.

The problem starts with PhP auto-installer: couldn't see the Apache radio button in it...

I'm switching to java;
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7294
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct '11 10:19    Post subject: Re: Apache 2.2 fails starting as soon as you update httpd.co Reply with quote

Owl wrote:

The problem starts with PhP auto-installer: couldn't see the Apache radio button in it...


Why not taking the zip file?

Owl wrote:

I'm switching to java;


Changing your religion?
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: PHP 5.3.5 with Apache 2.2.17: Apache won't start View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Other Software Page Previous  1, 2