logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge  


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.



Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Cannot get http2 to run on Windows server 2016
Author
hypersonic



Joined: 17 Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul '19 18:59    Post subject: Cannot get http2 to run on Windows server 2016 Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm having problems to activate HTTP2 in Apache 2.4.39 (Win64 / Open SSL 1.1.1c) on a Windows 2016 server.

I have several servers running Server 2012R2 all with HTTP2 working and I use exactly the same configuration and Apache version on the 2016 machine:

In the default conf file:
LoadModule http2_module modules/mod_http2.so

and in virtualhost context:
SSLEngine on
SSLCertificateFile conf/ssl/mydomain.com-chain.pem
SSLCertificateKeyFile conf/ssl/mydomain.com-key.pem
Protocols h2 http/1.1

SSL certs are by Let's Encrypt.
As I get no errors in Apache log file or in Windows Events I can't figure out what is wrong.

When I call the website from a browser I can see it uses HTTP 1.1 and also https://http2.pro says "no HTTP2".
Also when I try to add a HTTP2 specific param like "H2MaxSessionStreams" I get an error on Apache restart saying that this command is unknown.

Are there any known issues with Windows Server 2016? Or any other hints? Any helpful options for log file?

Thanks a lot
Hyper
Back to top
mraddi



Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Posts: 95
Location: Schömberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul '19 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

of course you need a browser that is able to use https Wink

I'm using Apache 2.4.39 downloaded here from apachelounge in combination with PHP 7.3.7 (downloaded from here, too) on Win10Pro successfully with HTTP/2. Within Firefox I use the addon "HTTP/2 Indicator" to have a hint if HTTP/2 is used or not.

Here are some lines from my apache's config-files that are related to HTTP/2 (and to https as (IIRC) HTTP/2 is only working in combination with https):

In httpd.conf:
Code:
LoadModule ssl_module modules/mod_ssl.so
LoadModule http2_module modules/mod_http2.so
Protocols h2 h2c http/1.1
ProtocolsHonorOrder On
[...]
Include conf/extra/httpd-ssl.conf
<IfModule ssl_module>
SSLRandomSeed startup builtin
SSLRandomSeed connect builtin
</IfModule>


in extra/httpd-ssl.conf
Code:
[...]
SSLProtocol -all +TLSv1.2 +TLSv1.3
SSLHonorCipherOrder On
SSLCipherSuite EECDH+AESGCM:EDH+AESGCM:AES256+EECDH:AES256+EDH;
SSLCipherSuite TLSv1.3 TLS_AES_256_GCM_SHA384:TLS_CHACHA20_POLY1305_SHA256:TLS_AES_128_GCM_SHA256:TLS_AES_128_CCM_8_SHA256:TLS_AES_128_CCM_SHA256
[...]


Maybe the are helpful Question
Back to top
hypersonic



Joined: 17 Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul '19 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

arrgh, my fault: I had two configs on my new server and simply loaded the wrong one w/o the line
LoadModule http2_module modules/mod_http2.so

After loading the correct one, now HTTP2 is working.

Thanks
Hyper
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Cannot get http2 to run on Windows server 2016 View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache