logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge  


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.



Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Hosting multiple web sites on a single server
Author
BDragojlovic



Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov '05 20:54    Post subject: Hosting multiple web sites on a single server Reply with quote

How can I host multiple websites (each one with a dedicated IP address) on a single server?

Can it be done via a single installation of Apache (and the proper configuration file), or do I need to install Apache once for each website.

I want each site to be a "root" side (and NOT a folder off of the roo).

e.g.
siteA.com
siteB.com

and NOT
thesite.com/siteA
thesite.com/siteB

Thanks,
Back to top
Xing



Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov '05 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at the example at:

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vhosts/examples.html#twoips

and

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vhosts/ip-based.html
Back to top
Brian



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 209
Location: Puyallup, WA USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov '05 8:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi BDragojlovic,

I have about 500 vhosts in multiple include files that are loaded into the primary httpd.conf file. It is easy for me to keep my house clean by organizing these VHOSTS onto seperate include files but if you are just starting out and you have maybe a handful of domains / sub-domains, then you can do it all within the httpd.conf file with out it getting too long to manage.

Here is an example part of one of my vhost entry files:

Code:

<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName www.domain.com
    ServerAlias domain.com www.domain2.com www.domain3.com
    DocumentRoot  x:/www/dir1/dir2/
    php_admin_value disable_functions "shell_exec,passthru,proc_close,proc_get_status,proc_open,proc_terminate,system"
    php_admin_value max_execution_time "120"
    php_admin_value memory_limit "16M"
    php_admin_value session.use_only_cookies "0"
    php_admin_value magic_quotes_gpc "Off"
    php_admin_value session.auto_start "1"
    php_admin_value session.cookie_lifetime "0"
    php_admin_value session.cache_expire "320"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName sub.domain.com
    DocumentRoot  x:/www/sub_domain/
    php_admin_value disable_functions "shell_exec,exec,virtual,passthru,proc_close,proc_get_status,proc_open,proc_terminate,system"
    php_admin_value max_execution_time "30"
    php_admin_value memory_limit "8M"
    php_admin_value post_max_size "2M"
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir "x:/www/sub_domain/tmp/"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName sub2.domain.com
    DocumentRoot  x:/www/sub2_domain/dir/
    php_admin_value disable_functions "shell_exec,exec,virtual,passthru,proc_close,proc_get_status,proc_open,proc_terminate,system"
    php_admin_value max_execution_time "60"
    php_admin_value memory_limit "2M"
    php_admin_value post_max_size "1M"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName www.domain4.com
    ServerAlias domain4.com *.domain4.com domain4.domain.com
    DocumentRoot  x:/www/domain4/
    php_admin_value disable_functions "shell_exec,exec,virtual,passthru,proc_close,proc_get_status,proc_open,proc_terminate,system"
    php_admin_value open_basedir "x:/www/domain4/"
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir "x:/www/domain4/tmp/"
    php_admin_value session.use_only_cookies "1"
</VirtualHost>


In my httpd.conf file I have the follwing:
Code:
###### get vhosts ######
NameVirtualHost *
Include conf/domain_list_1.conf
Include conf/domain_list_2.conf
Include conf/domain_list_3.conf
Include conf/domain_list_4.conf
######################
This bit "includes" the domain info so that I don't have a massive 4000 line httpd.conf file.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
For you though, it does NOT matter where the ROOT directory for the server is, when you set up your vhosts. So, try something like this:

Code:
NameVirtualHost *
<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName www.domain1.com
    ServerAlias domain1.com *.domain1.com
    DocumentRoot  x:/www/domain1/
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
    ServerName www.domain2.com
    ServerAlias domain2.com *domain2.com
    DocumentRoot  x:/www/domain2/
</VirtualHost>


I posted all that code so that you could see how the set could look strikingly different, but in the last code example I simply posted a very straightforward illustration of how to place two vhosts on a drive, any drive, regardless of where the server's root directory is.

If possible, place your vhosts on a separate hard drive, that I my preference anyway. I like to keep all vhosts on a drive that does not also contain any root folders / scripts, no MySQL, no Perl or PHP engine, essentially, just on data drives.

Are you running any scripting languages as well?

Good luck, hope this has helped a bit.

--
Brian
Back to top
sniper_wolf48



Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jan '07 1:29    Post subject: Multiple Websites on one server Reply with quote

Hello, I tried the code listed above in my config and it still redirects me to my primary website, I am trying to host my game site http://tod.servegame.com and another seperate domain via www.map.com just an e.g.

but within my same IP as i only have one internet connection, how would i customize that code to do it?
Back to top
strigoi



Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan '07 11:12    Post subject: this will do Reply with quote

NameVirtualHost *

#
# VirtualHost example:
# Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
# The first VirtualHost section is used for requests without a known
# server name.
#
<VirtualHost *>
ServerName yoursite.com
ServerAlias www.yoursite.com
DocumentRoot "c:/program files/apache group/apache2/htdocs/site1/"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *>
ServerName yoursite2.com
ServerAlias www.yoursite2.com
DocumentRoot "c:/program files/apache group/apache2/htdocs/site2/"
</VirtualHost>


Change ServerName
Change ServerAlais
Change DocumentRoot
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Hosting multiple web sites on a single server View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache