logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Wierd Error... Processes Not Dying...
Author
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 7:45    Post subject: Wierd Error... Processes Not Dying... Reply with quote

In CGI mode or the other mode I already get processes which don't end...

Here is an example of two CGI processes which just won't finish... There only two loaners here but it will go up to 50! and then crash...



When this happens it builts up with 1 2 3 4 5 till all 250 places or how many threads i have are in use and no pages will go or I'll have memory errors...

error.log has...

[Sun Feb 11 23:01:14 2007] [crit] [Sun Feb 11 23:01:14 2007] file D:\\asf-build\\build-2.0.59\\server\\mpm\\winnt\\child.c, line 1078, assertion "(rv >= 0) && (rv < threads_created)" failed
[Mon Feb 12 00:33:00 2007] [crit] [Mon Feb 12 00:33:00 2007] file D:\\asf-build\\build-2.0.59\\server\\mpm\\winnt\\child.c, line 1078, assertion "(rv >= 0) && (rv < threads_created)" failed

I have a bunch more of these...
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 14:46    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can set


ProcessLifeTime 240
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is I want to run PHP as a module... But the processes still lock up... I just put it to CGI to show how they lockup... It could be any page which loads which causes it... Totally random...

ProcessLifeTime 240 will only work with FastCGI. Is there such a thing which exists if I want to run PHP as a module system?
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

the modul do NOT start php-cgi.exe

How did you set up the php module in httpd.conf
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

ScriptAlias /php/ "D:/Apache Group/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php-cgi .phpcgi
Action application/x-httpd-php-cgi "/php/php-cgi.exe"
SetEnv PHPRC "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"

LoadModule php5_module "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
PHPIniDir "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"

---

PHPCGI scripts will have PHP processes not end...

PHP MODULE scripts will have it's threads go down by about 1 every 5 minutes (they lock up) until I get memory errors and eventually no pages will load because 0 threads are looking for incoming connections...

If i restart apache threads will show from 500 to 490 to 480... And it eats up a lot of memory...

I thought downgrading to Apache 2.0.59 would solve the problems (I was using your version 2.2.4 before)... Same problems...

Should I put the ProcessLifeTime 240 inside of the virtual host? Apache does not start... While looking it up, it seems like the value should go in the fcgi module (which I don't use).

<VirtualHost 82.165.161.46:80>
ServerName rave.ca
ServerAlias *.rave.ca
ServerAlias raves.ca
ServerAlias *.raves.ca
ServerAdmin webmaster@rave.ca
DocumentRoot D:\Websites\ravewave.com\website
ErrorLog D:\Websites\ravewave.com\logs\error.log
php_admin_value open_basedir "D:\Websites\ravewave.com;C:\Windows\Temp"
php_admin_value doc_root "D:\Websites\ravewave.com"
php_admin_value user_dir "D:\Websites\ravewave.com"
<Directory D:\Websites\ravewave.com\website>
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
<Directory "D:\Websites\ravewave.com\website\data\music">
Order Deny,Allow
Deny from All
</Directory>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^/full/(.*).[png|jpg|gif]$ http://www.rave.ca/?g=full&i=$1 [L]
</VirtualHost>
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

If i restart the server... Here the logs...

[Mon Feb 12 11:00:19 2007] [notice] Child 3524: Waiting for 499 worker threads to exit.
[Mon Feb 12 11:10:17 2007] [notice] Child 3524: Waiting for 496 worker threads to exit.
[Mon Feb 12 11:20:16 2007] [notice] Child 3524: Waiting for 492 worker threads to exit.
[Mon Feb 12 11:30:12 2007] [notice] Child 3524: Waiting for 487 worker threads to exit.
[Mon Feb 12 11:40:22 2007] [notice] Child 3524: Waiting for 484 worker threads to exit.

Always with:

[Mon Feb 12 12:00:19 2007] [crit] [Mon Feb 12 12:00:19 2007] file D:\\asf-build\\build-2.0.59\\server\\mpm\\winnt\\child.c, line 1078, assertion "(rv >= 0) && (rv < threads_created)" failed
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed to this, I'll let you know how it is... i think it's the proper setup...




httpd.conf:

LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so

ScriptAlias /php/ "D:/Apache Group/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php-cgi .phpcgi
Action application/x-httpd-php-cgi "/php/php-cgi.exe"

SetEnv PHPRC "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"

DefaultInitEnv PHPRC "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"
DefaultInitEnv PATH "D:/Apache Group/PHP;C:/WINDOWS/system32;C:/WINDOWS;"
DefaultInitEnv SystemRoot "C:/Windows"
DefaultInitEnv SystemDrive "C:"
DefaultInitEnv TEMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"
DefaultInitEnv TMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"
DefaultInitEnv windir "C:/WINDOWS"

LoadModule php5_module "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php5apache2.dll"
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
PHPIniDir "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"




vhost:

<VirtualHost 82.165.161.46:80>
ServerName rave.ca
ServerAdmin webmaster@rave.ca
DocumentRoot D:\Websites\ravewave.com\website
ErrorLog D:\Websites\ravewave.com\logs\error.log
php_admin_value open_basedir "D:\Websites\ravewave.com;C:\Windows\Temp"
php_admin_value doc_root "D:\Websites\ravewave.com"
php_admin_value user_dir "D:\Websites\ravewave.com"
<Directory D:\Websites\ravewave.com\website>
FCGIWrapper "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php-cgi.exe" .php
Options ExecCGI
AllowOverride All
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
<Directory "D:\Websites\ravewave.com\website\data\music">
Order Deny,Allow
Deny from All
</Directory>
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^/full/(.*).[png|jpg|gif]$ http://www.rave.ca/?g=full&i=$1 [L]
</VirtualHost>


Last edited by Thog on Mon 12 Feb '07 23:10; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb '07 22:49    Post subject: Rogue Processes Reply with quote

You can see a bunch of rogue PHP-CGi processes on the bottom which form outside of apache....

Back to top
Jorge



Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Feb '07 9:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using the latest php release? if os did you get the thread safe one?
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb '07 0:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what the difference is between the thread safe one and the regular one... I took the one in on snaps.php.net...
Back to top
PaRK_7677



Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 65
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb '07 1:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the config file you post you have CGI and the module both configured.

For CGI:

AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
Action application/x-httpd-php "/php/php-cgi.exe"

For FastCGI: (something like this)

LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so
AddHandler php-fastcgi .php
SetHandler fastcgi-script
Action php-fastcgi "/php/php-cgi.exe"

For Module: (below shown for Apache 2 (not 2.2)

LoadModule php5_module "c:/php/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php


Do one. In your http.conf you have FastCGI and the Module loading. Check out PHP.net's documentation on how to install on Windows using Apache: http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.windows.apache2.php
Back to top
Thog



Joined: 12 Feb 2007
Posts: 75
Location: Montreal

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb '07 2:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have it loaded... That is not the problem Wink The problem happens when I run PHP as a module... Threads keep disappearing until none listen anymore... Using FCGI works but unfortunately the old versions didn't allow for multiple php.ini files... I think this new version will that just came out... I'm trying it out now...
Back to top
Snecx



Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar '07 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Thog:
You have BOTH the php module AND fcgid loaded based on the latest configuration you've posted.

Quote:
LoadModule fcgid_module modules/mod_fcgid.so

ScriptAlias /php/ "D:/Apache Group/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php-cgi .phpcgi
Action application/x-httpd-php-cgi "/php/php-cgi.exe"

SetEnv PHPRC "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"

DefaultInitEnv PHPRC "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"
DefaultInitEnv PATH "D:/Apache Group/PHP;C:/WINDOWS/system32;C:/WINDOWS;"
DefaultInitEnv SystemRoot "C:/Windows"
DefaultInitEnv SystemDrive "C:"
DefaultInitEnv TEMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"
DefaultInitEnv TMP "C:/WINDOWS/TEMP"
DefaultInitEnv windir "C:/WINDOWS"

LoadModule php5_module "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php5apache2.dll" <-- you should remove this line, this is for module. You have module + FCGI running, not good.
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
PHPIniDir "D:/Apache Group/PHP/php.ini"


When you are running just the module, perhaps you should start with a new configuration file? Your current file has too many things on php alone, which I believe is unnecessary.

Also, you cannot run php-cgi as module. It is not supposed to work.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Wierd Error... Processes Not Dying... View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache