logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in RSS X


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: Remotly Restarting Apache
Author
mrtechguy



Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jul '07 6:38    Post subject: Remotly Restarting Apache Reply with quote

Hello all,
I am after a script (most preferably PHP, that I can use to remotely restart an Apache 2.2.3 server, Security is *not* a problem with this I just need to be able to do it. The situation is this:
I am a student in a school where we are heavily locked down (aka no telnet, remote desktop, ssh, etc.) All machines are windows. I am running an apache server (teacher kindly set this up for me). I need a PHP scipt, or an application that can shut down and start apache (however I don't think I can remotely access RPC so services.msc won't work, Apache Monitor doesn't work either so it is looking like PHP.

Any ideas.

Cheers
MTG
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jul '07 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, not so easy. But there is an idea for a php solution.
I haven't tested it!

Code:

<?php
exec('C:\path\to\bin\httpd -k restart');
?>



or if that don't work

Code:

<?php
exec('C:\restart.cmd');
?>


restart.cmd
Code:

net stop Apache2
net start Apache2
Back to top
Jorge



Joined: 12 Mar 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul '07 10:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

that a really bad idea!... when if it fails to restart you'll lose access.
I was working on a small web interface to do this but I abbandoned it.

I had a little app running (delphi) that monitored a folder where the php script would write commands.txt and the app would parse it and delete the file and wait for a new one.

using php's exec or system command gave poor result and a lot of timeouts.
Back to top
James Blond
Moderator


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 7298
Location: Germany, Next to Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul '07 11:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of cause it is not the best solution, no doubt about that! Without having your tool, it works to call cmd with exec('C:\path\to\bin\httpd -k restart');
Using passthru from PHP, which gives a feedback makes no sence, beauce httpd.exe gives no viewable feedback. Maybe there is a need for an apache2ctl script for Windows Rolling Eyes

So I will try out your solution if it is done.
Back to top
bentogoa



Joined: 09 Feb 2007
Posts: 66
Location: GOA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul '07 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have php_win32service.dll ext loaded in your php configuration?

Bento Fernandes
Webmaster
http://www.goanwap.com
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: Remotly Restarting Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache