logo
Apache Lounge
Webmasters

 

About Forum Index Downloads Search Register Log in  RSS Apache Lounge  


Keep Server Online

If you find the Apache Lounge, the downloads and overall help useful, please express your satisfaction with a donation.

or

Bitcoin

A donation makes a contribution towards the costs, the time and effort that's going in this site and building.

Thank You! Steffen

Your donations will help to keep this site alive and well, and continuing building binaries. Apache Lounge is not sponsored.



Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache View previous topic :: View next topic
Reply to topic   Topic: apache 2.2.2 for windows xp setting up httpd.conf
Author
p-doff



Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 13:57    Post subject: apache 2.2.2 for windows xp setting up httpd.conf Reply with quote

Sad I have installed Apache 2.2.2 on my windows XP, made changes to the .conf file and transfered one site in from my existing Apache 2 on windows 2000. When I open my browser and enter the url an 'opening' dialogue box pops out and tells me 'you have chosen to open' which is a: application/x-httpd-php What should Firefox do with this file.
Well, by now I would like to tell Firefox. However, the index page is a .html file.
I am new to xp, newish to apache and I clearly have not persuaded it that it is a server and expected to deal up my stuff.
Does anyone have a step by step for the httpd.conf following msi install.
Thanks p-doff or p-dwriteoff
Back to top
mphare



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 17:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, you didn't mention if you have php installed and running on the Apache2.2/XP installation. I take it you did have php running on the Apache2/W2K installation.

Is there also an index.php file in the root directory? Maybe the order of your DirectoryIndex directive needs to be addressed.
Back to top
p-doff



Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 19:08    Post subject: apache 2.2.2 for windows xp setting up httpd.conf Reply with quote

No I didn't install php yet. I was on a step by stepper. I had hoped to serve up html before moving on.

I also didn't have an index.php in the root directory.

I have fiddled with my DirectoryIndex - such as commenting out the IfModule it's wrapped in and removing index.php. Nothing doing.

Thanks for the thoughts!
Back to top
p-doff



Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, yes I did have php running on the w2k
Back to top
mphare



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote

You moved your complete website from the W2k install.. did you try it with just a simple single page website? Before I moved my Apache2 web site into the location I just served up the default page (I think it just says "It Worked" or something like that.) I then set my root path and served up a single html page of my making. Then I moved my existing site over.

Just put an index.html in wwwroot (or whatever you called it) and see if that works.

Otherwise I think you've reached the limit of my knowledge, maybe somebody else has a thought otr two.
Back to top
p-doff



Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 20:13    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was worth a try, so I did and it didn't.

I tried porting my old Apache2 httpd.conf but it coughed and spluttered in so many places it wasn't worth the bother.

This multiple file httpd.conf is a stunner. I keep trolling through it with all its includes, worrying about this and that IfModule but nothing changes.

Thanks anyway.
Back to top
mphare



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

On a fresh install, before you monkey with the conf file, once the server is running it serves up a simple "It Worked" page. Did you get that at least?
Back to top
fonfi



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon 15 May '06 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I remember the only configuration that need to be set up before starting the apache server is:

ServerRoot "c:/Program Files/Apache Group/Apache 2"

DocumentRoot "d:/data_html"

# This should be changed to whatever you set DocumentRoot to.
<Directory "d:/data_html">

In WinXP the " sign is important. You have to put each path in "" if you have space sign in it (like in my exaple). Otherwise it is not necessary, but it is good practise to do so.

Also make sure you have following lines in your conf file:

<IfModule dir_module>
DirectoryIndex index.html index.php
</IfModule>

If you have all the above and apache still troubles you let me know, and send me your httpd.conf file (i'll send my email address) - i'll take a look.
Back to top
p-doff



Joined: 15 May 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 16 May '06 17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mphare - I did get the indications that the install was fine, yes.

Hi fonfi - yes all those things are in place.

I want to thank you both, but this morning my harddisk failed and I had to cart that whole box back to the Vendor. Everything has gone!

In addition I have had a heavy project just hit the mat, so it's head down to develop with my old apache 2 on this box.

I will reappear when this is off my neck and I get my box back and go for the Apache 2.2.2 again.

If you are not using it yet, get it on so you will be ready for me.

Thanks and sorry!
P-doff
Back to top
mphare



Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 43
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue 16 May '06 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good luck!
Back to top
pips



Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 65
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Mon 22 May '06 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

p-doff, you might find something from my topic below:-

http://www.apachelounge.com/viewtopic.php?t=374

Phil.
Back to top
ddebidin



Joined: 17 Mar 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 22 May '06 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just wondering about the server root, the new apache installation changes it to apache foundation. Could be that all of those old path settings might be invalid.
Back to top


Reply to topic   Topic: apache 2.2.2 for windows xp setting up httpd.conf View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic   Forum Index -> Apache